Note: My sincere apologies to The Carpenters and to songwriters: MOORE/WILLIAMS/TRAVIS

Carpenters_-_Walk_of_Fame

Winter Days And Hip Pain Always Get Me Down

Lyin’ here in bed and feelin’ old
Sciatica just won’t quit
It didn’t used to hurt a bit
Now I confess
My body is such a mess
Winter days and hip pain always get me down

What I’ve got they used to call ‘bad back’
Somethin’ is really wrong
Been in pain all day long
Can’t walk around
Wish I could stroll to town
Winter days and hip pain always get me down

Not funny how it seems just when I think I’m doing fine
My back and hip and leg start screaming
Not funny how the nerves that travel up and down my spine
Can make such tears of pain come streaming (come streaming)….

What I feel has come and gone before
Just need to wait it out
When I’m better I will shout
Back on my feet
Ready to hit the street
Winter days and hip pain always get me down

Not funny how the nerves that travel up and down my spine (up and down my spine)
Can make such tears of pain come streaming

What I feel has come and gone before
Just need to wait it out
When I’m better I will shout
Back on my feet
Ready to hit the street
Winter days and hip pain always get me down

Now I confess
My body is such a mess
Winter days and hip pain always get
me down

10 thoughts on “Winter Days and Hip Pain Always Get Me Down

  1. So sorry you are in pain. Right now for me shoulder pain and winter are getting me down. You are way ahead of me though. I am not creative enough to turn my pain into song lyrics! I am so impressed! I’ve had sciatica flare ups ~ no fun at all. Hope you feel better soon.

    1. Carol – I know that a lot of us suffer with chronic conditions this time of the year and I know that I usually feel somewhat better once the warmer weather returns. But I’m doing my best to keep busy and stretch and exercise to try to help ease the pain, and I know it will settle down again in time. I just get frustrated because it’s such an intense pain when it acts up, and can make it really difficult to stand or sit for any length of time without making the pain even worse. Vicious cycle, really.
      But I’m still above ground, so shouldn’t complain too much, I guess! Hope your shoulder pain improves soon. Take care.

  2. Ha! That was great, not so great you are in pain. have you tried putting a tennis ball between you and the wall and rubbing against the tender area?

    1. Thanks, Linda. This is a chronic problem for me that has recently flared up. I’m doing stretches and exercises and taking anti-inflammatories etc for it and have had some massage therapy, and it’s gradually improving, thank goodness. The pain is mainly in my hip and thigh and down into my calf, which really sucks…but it could be lots worse. I did have fun writing the song lyrics!

    1. Thanks, Barb. At least writing the song lyrics took my mind off my discomfort for awhile! 😊 I took it fairly easy today because I have to be able to play at the Drew tomorrow afternoon.

  3. LOL … good job – good parody !! … so is that your new song for next set list? – I’m sure the nursing home residents we play for would certainly identify with it 😉

Leave a Reply

