Everything I Needed To Know In 2015 I Learned On Facebook – Part 2


Almost all people I know have experienced loss in their lives – could be the death of a parent, a spouse, a child, a sibling or a friend. And that is tough, one of the toughest things we go through during our short kick-at-the-can time on this planet Earth.

Like love, loss has the power to make or break people. Death makes grown men weep, makes neighbor sob against the shoulder of neighbor, makes friends hug each other so tight that bones, like hearts, are at risk of cracking.

If we live long enough, loss is inevitable. It comes to all of us without prejudice, and throws its weight around like a heavy-weight wrestler in a ring.

How we cope with loss – whether it’s the death of a loved one or the end of a friendship or marriage – shapes our outlook for the future days we have left in our lives.

In 2015, I posted several status updates on Facebook that fall, however loosely, into the category of LOSS and HEALING, and I thought I’d share those with you here. My intent in sharing these short posts that make statements about loss, about grief, and about the process of healing, is not meant to trivialize what we go through in our journeys. Rather it is to show that other people, people we have never met and will never meet, are facing their own grief and healing challenges, so that we can know we are really never alone, never the only person facing a ‘new normal’, a term some therapists use to describe the process of moving forward after a loss.

Note: Where known, I’ve included the source of the original posts that I shared on FB.

2015 1

2015 2

2015  70

2015  56

2015  82

2015  83

2015  109

2015  123

2015  119

2015  45

Did you experience loss last year? If so, I hope that you are doing whatever it is that you need to do for you at this time.

Thanks for stopping by. Please come again, and remember – Don’t be a stranger.

7 thoughts on “Everything I Needed To Know In 2015 I Learned On Facebook – Part 2

  1. I lost a very dear friend in September after a 5.5 year courageous battle with cancer. I am still realizing the beautiful gifts of her life and friendship ~ because they are now missing. As the first box states, I am still struggling to redefine the “me” without her physical presence in my life. This past weekend I think I realized a part of that new redefinition. Renee has asked me to help her children (young adults) and grandchildren (who were the center of her life) accept her death and embrace the fact that she is now not an external part of their lives, but rather an internal part of their being that will always be there to watch over them and guide them.

    1. I’m so sorry for your loss, Carol. I know it’s a challenge to learn how to go on without that person when a loved one dies. But what a good friend you are to her still, to help her children and grandchildren with their healing journeys. Hugs to you, and thank you for commenting.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this subject Sylvia–we do all go through a loss of some sort, some much more tragic then others–but it’s how we deal with it that helps the healing. Thank you!

    1. Thanks for dropping by and commenting, Pat. Is this Pat C, by the way? Just wondering…
      And yes, everyone experiences loss and has to find their own way through the healing journey. I’m still struggling with it myself a lot of the time, but I’m doing much better than I was, overall.

Leave a Reply

