Foto Friday – Heading to Quispamsis


As some of you will know from my last complaning post, I’ve been under-the-weather for the last ten days or so, and am only now beginning to function like a more-or-less normal human being. My energy level is still in the minus numbers and I’m still coughing and blowing my nose, but at least I am making progress on my road to recovery.

And thank goodness for that, with the Christmas season staring me in the face everywhere I turn. Christmas songs playing on the radio, Christmas lights twinking at me from rooftops and front lawns and Christmas trees sparkling in my neighbors’ windows when I’m out in the evening all remind me that I had better get busy if I’m going to be ready for the Holidays this year.

While I was sick I didn’t accomplish anything toward that goal. And neither did I accomplish my daily or weekly walking goals, although I did manage to walk a bit – trips to the kitchen and bathroom added up over the days and a few times I did feel like walking on the treadmill for half an hour or I paced around my kitchen island while I was waiting for my tea to steep or my soup to heat.

This preamble is a lead-in to tell you that today I added up the steps my Fitbit tracked since I last wrote about my virtual walking adventure around New Brunswick, and I have traveled a fairly-respectable 135.9 Km – approx 84.4 Miles – since Nov 15. Not a world record, I’m sure, but not bad for a 60+ woman who was ill for a good portion of that time.

So which direction did I go and where did I end up after leaving Moncton?

NewBunswick-mapWell, I decided to follow the Trans Canada highway and head southwest toward the city of Saint John.

Along the way, I stopped in the town of Sussex, New Brunswick, a distance of 81.5 Km – 50.6 Miles, to have a look around.

240px-Downtown_Sussex

Wikipedia states that Sussex straddles the Kennebecasis River and has approx 7460 residents, although the number of residents including the surrounding area is closer to 35,00.  Settlers in the area were largely British Loyalists who had fled the American Revolution in 1776, although they also included Irish refugees who had escaped the potato famine from the mid 19th century. It was officially established as a town in 1903 and is considered to be in the center of what has been called New Brunswick’s “Golden Triangle” that connects the cities of Moncton, Fredericton and Saint John (source – Wikipedia).

potash plantThe area around Sussex has the second largest Potash deposits in the world, second only to an area in Saskatchewan, Canada, and its mines produce large quantities of Potash that is mainly used in fertilizers.

Sussex is also known as a major producer of dairy products in NB, with Sussex Chedder Cheese being a favorite with many New Brunswick families.

Cow and calf

Meet Buttercup and Daisy, the  holstein cow and calf statues that were erected in Sussex to acknowledge its status as the Dairy Centre of New Brunswick.

hot air balloons
Generic Photo of Hot Air Balloons

Every September, Sussex residents welcome over 45,ooo visitors to the area to attend the Atlantic Balloon Fiesta, a weekend event of hot-air balloon rides, craft fairs, concessions stands and musical entertainment. This tradition began in 1985 and has run every year since then.

160px-Ginger_ale
Ginger Ale

Besides being home to ‘Sussex Golden Ginger Ale’, a Maritime favorite beverage, the town of Sussex is also billed as the Mural Capital of Atlantic Canada, and visitors can take self-directed walking tours to view the 26 panoramic masterpieces adorning local buildings.

I’m so glad I stopped in Sussex, a town that is known as a highway service centre on the primary highway between Moncton and Saint John and is the most heavily travelled route in the Maritimes to reach the United States.

 

I’m sure you’ll love it, too, should you have an opportunity to visit.

I’m going to catch my breath now before I head down the highway and will tack the 54.4 kilometres remaining from this week’s post onto my next one. I wonder where I’ll end up and what sights I’ll see along the way.

Please stop by again when you can, and remember, don’t be a stranger.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Foto Friday – Heading to Quispamsis

  1. you should be writing a travelogue … ‘the armchair traveller’s guide to New Brunswick” 😉 ,,, maybe get a grant from NB Tourism … 😉

  2. So glad you are feeling better! Thank you for the tour of Sussex. You actually made me want to walk so that I could more interesting places than the patches of grass where my dogs pee, poop, and in one case, play road kill in the middle of the street hoping I’ll pick her up and carry her home! You are giving this New England Yankee an education into the life and culture of the Canadian maritime. My ancestors were also mercenaries from the Revolutionary War. They were apparently from Ireland and were happy to “turn coat” with the promise of land after the war. The two brothers settled in Pennsylvania and Ohio. Keep walking and keep getting healthy!

  3. Sylvia, you are amazing. Not sure I could circle the kitchen island, but am amazed at your mileage. This was a fascinating and informative post. I enjoyed it. Hope you are feeling much better by now.

Leave a Reply

