I was going through my pictures and came across a few from a trip I took to British Columbia this summer to visit an old friend, so thought I’d share them on today’s Foto Friday post.

For those of you not familiar with Canada’s geography, British Columbia is on the west coast of our country and New Brunswick is on the east coast, and there is a four-hour time change between those two provinces, so travelling from one to the other causes a little bit of adjustment on each end of the trip while bodies acclimitize to the change. In my opinion it’s worth the bother, though, if we want to see more of our beautiful country than just what’s outside our own windows. 

British Columbia on the west coast and New Brunswick on the east, with five other provinces in-between.
British Columbia on the west coast and New Brunswick on the east, with five other provinces in-between.

I had forgotten how gorgeous the Rocky Mountains are – they are even breathtaking when viewed from a plane. 

Rocky Mountains in BC
Rocky Mountains in BC
Breathtaking!
Breathtaking!
Snow capped mountains in July.
Snow capped mountains in July.
2015-07-02 09.24.13
Another mountain picture – who could resist?

And, I got to visit Vancouver for a day – my first time there. From what I saw it is a beautiful city, and one day I’d love to go back to explore it in more depth. But this time I walked the streets of ‘Gastown’, visited Canada Place and experienced an absolutely awesome, breath-taking 4-D adventure there called ‘Fly Over Canada’ that I would highly recommend to anyone who has the opportunity to see it in the future, had my picture taken beside the Olmpic Flame from Vancouver’s 2010 winter Olympics, rode a ferry to North Vancouver and ate lunch there outdoors overlooking a marina filled with yachts I could only dream about affording, and literally ran to catch the commuter train from Vancouver back to where I was staying. A good day’s workout, for sure.

One view of downtown Vancouver
One view of downtown Vancouver
Standing beside a 'steam clock' on a street in Gastown.
Standing beside a ‘steam clock’ on a street in Gastown.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Seaplanes ready to fly tourists over the area.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lined up, ready and waiting to go.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another shot of one small part of the city.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Wonder what it would cost to live in one of these highrise buildings?
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Beside the Olympic Flame.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Took a ferry ride to North Vancouver.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
It was very tempting to try to climb aboard this cruise ship heading to Alaska. I’ve never been to Alaska – wonder what it would be like to see it as a stow-away? 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Saw this building while I was enjoying an outdoor lunch in North Vancouver.
Maybe this little cruiser would make a nice 'home away from home'.
Maybe this little cruiser would make a nice ‘home away from home’.

I also visited several nearby lakes in BC and had lovely walks around them, even though BC was in the middle of a heat wave and the temperature was a sultry 34-36 degrees Celcius while I was there, and I spent one amazing afternoon walking along the Fraser River.

Great beach in a BC park, but I didn't swim there tht afternoon. Maybe another time.
Great beach in a BC park, but I didn’t swim there that afternoon. Maybe another time.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
View of the Fraser River
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Walked this pathway along the Fraser River one beautiful afternoon. 

I crammed a lot of sightseeing into my short visit to this beautiful province on the other end of the country from where I live, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I also met great people who welcomed me to their province with open arms, and I made a couple of new friends that I keep in touch with now, so overall the trip, even with the heat, humidity and time change, was awesome. 

Hopefully one day I’ll have an opportunity to return there for another adventure and maybe get to see more of Vancouver and the surrounding area.

Happy Friday, everyone – thanks for stopping by, and please, don’t be a stranger.

9 thoughts on “Foto Friday – Short Trip to British Columbia, Canada

  1. BC is gorgeous! I was especially drawn to the beach picture. It is quite odd to me, who is so used to seeing ocean scenes that go on forever with nothing but ocean on the horizon to see mountains rising from the sea ~ how intriguing and beautiful! The only part of Canada I have explored is Ottawa and Nova Scotia. Obviously there is much to see that is divine!

Leave a Reply

