treadmillLast week I found a treadmill in my basement, gathering dust in a corner of the family room. 

It’s not as if I didn’t know it existed or didn’t remember that it was there, it’s just that the poor thing hadn’t been touched by human hands or feet for several years, other than to be moved from one corner of the room to another to make room for storing even more unused-but-not-yet-discarded items near it.

But last Monday evening I decided it was time to rescue the machine from its sedentary life of dust-gathering and again use it for what it was intended.

You see, I am now a walker, a walker in need of walking, but not yet a walker ready to brave whatever miserable weather Mother Nature throws at me. And throw it at me she does – lately she has decided that I need to experience lots of rain, cold temperatures and chilling, damp winds that blow right through my bones. I think maybe Mother Nature is ticked off at me. Or perhaps that’s just my imagination.

But since I’m relatively new at this walking routine some of my family and friends choose to call it an addiction, and I don’t want to compromise my walking goal of at least 10,000 steps every day, and since I can’t complete all my walking outside right now because of Mother Nature’s hissy-fits, I realized that I’d better attempt to walk indoors, where it’s nice and warm and…not rainy, cold and windy.

So this is where the dust-gathering treadmill comes in.

walkingUntil this past week, if I found myself short of my 10 K step goal, I walked around my kitchen island around and around and around until my FitBit Charge HR registered the magical number for me, but all that walking around the island was making me dizzy and I’m actually dizzy enough without intentionally adding to it this way. Besides, I was beginning to wear a track in the floor and I don’t really want to replace my kitchen laminate any time soon. Time to figure out another plan.

So on Monday evening when my son stopped by for a visit I asked if he’d be able to help me set up the treadmill, and being the good son that he is, he complied.

He rolled the machine over to where the television is, thinking that I could, perhaps, watch a movie or series on Netflix while I walked, and that was really thoughtful of him. The problem is that my treadmill isn’t new, remember I said it’s been gathering cobwebs and dust downstairs for years, and it is LOUD when its motor is running. The more I increase the speed the louder the machine becomes. I’m not sure if new treadmills have this same issue but trying to watch television while walking on my treadmill would be like trying to watch one that was sitting smack-dab in the middle of a runway at a busy airport. 

I can, however, listen to songs on my iPhone while I walk and walk, getting nowhere, but happy to be on the journey. Sometimes I imagine that I’m walking across my province, or across Canada, or even across North America.

So that’s what I do now. I listen to songs I have to learn for the band I’m in, or I listen to songs I’d like our band to try at some point, or I listen to some of my favourite songs by really good artists, all while I’m placing one foot in front of the other on my  treadmill. And before I know it, half an hour or an hour has gone by and I’ve reached or exceeded my walking goal for the day.

I also realized that I could listen to audio books while I walk and that would be another great way to pass the time as I march along. I’ve tried listening to them at night as a way to fall asleep, but I don’t seem to be the kind of person who can do that – I become too involved in them to drift off to dreamland while the narrator is talking, and besides, I was taught that ignoring a person who is speaking is rude, and I don’t want to be rude, not even when I’m alone at night. 🙂

So I’ll listen to music, or to audio books, or try watching a show on my iPad with my earphones plugged in, or will simply walk in relative silence other than the treadmill noise I mentioned earlier, thinking my own thoughts and being grateful because I have a treadmill to use and still have the ability to walk. 

If you’re looking for me this fall and winter, and if I’m not walking in the local park or arena or practicing music with my band mates, chances are you’ll find me at home, in my family room, making my way across North America on my treadmill, one step at a time.

Thanks for dropping by, and remember, don’t be a stranger.

*Disclaimer: I am not receiving any compensation for mentioning the brand FitBit in my post – I am mentioning it simply because it is the electronic device I use to track my steps and the distance I walk.

10 thoughts on “I Found A Treadmill In My Basement

  1. Listening to music and audio books is a great idea. I find I get bored very quickly using indoor exercise equipment. I can find lots of things that interest me while I walk outside. Not so indoors.
    Walking across Canada is another great idea. Good luck with the walking.

    1. Yes, I’ve always wanted to drive across Canada and have never had the chance, so maybe I’ll start walking across it and track my progress on my blog. Good plan, right?
      I get bored walking on the treadmill, too, but really did find that this week when I listened to songs I need to work on, etc, the time went quickly and I got in my steps without thinking too much about it. I hope the momentum continues throughout the winter, as I’m sure there will be many days that I won’t be able to walk around outside too much.
      Thanks for your comment, Barb – thoughtful as always.

  2. I don’t have a treadmill, but I think it might be time to get out the exercise bike again and give it a whirl … it’s been collecting dust in my bedroom, where it makes a perfect clothes-horse 😉 … so I guess I’ll go hang up the sweaters and whatever else is hanging on it, and put it to use again … maybe tomorrow 😉

  3. Great idea! I actually have a treadmill and a recumbent bike in my basement collecting dust! Maybe you can motivate me to do more walking than getting my little Cavalier King Charles Spaniels to relieve themselves!
    Another thought to add to your list. You mentioned walking across North America ~ I once taught with a man who was a bike rider. He used a stationary bike indoors in the winter. He posted a map on the wall, decided where he wanted to go and used a highlighter to track his progress on the map. Perhaps you can literally “walk across North America.” Bravo to you ~ enjoy your walk, tunes, books!

    1. Yes, Carol – the more I think about it the more I’m tempted to track my progress across at least Canada this winter. I wonder how far I could get by next spring?
      Think I’ll post a map near the treadmill, too, and start highlighting my journey. First – Canada – and then I’ll work my way back to the east coast via the US.
      Maybe I’ll stop in and visit you when I’m walking through your town. LOL

  4. What a great idea! I also use a treadmill to “up” my steps. But I have to go to a gym to do it. Our place has absolutely no room for a treadmill but I’d love to have one at home. Keep on walking!

    1. Hi Old Girl – that is one of the problems with downsizing (that I may do next year) – not much space for things such as treadmills and recumbent bikes.
      If I do downsize I may have to start going to a gym instead of walking at home…but at least for this winter I’m okay.
      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

