I can’t believe that another week has flown by already and here we are at Friday again.

A lot of life has been happening around me and to me this week but I’ll save those stories for another day, because today is Foto Friday.

Today I thought I’d share a few pictures of ‘How I Spent My Summer Vacation’ – oh, who am I kidding – I’m a retired person – every day is a vacation day to me!

But I especially love my summer vacation days.

I have a cottage only half an hour away from my home in New Brunswick, Canada, and I am lucky to be able to spend most of my summer days and nights enjoying cottage life there.

I love it. I love everything about it: the warmth of the sun, the cooling breeze off the water, the sound of the waves crashing against the shore, the call of the seagulls as they swoop overhead in their search for fish, and I especially love walking on the beach looking for treasures that the sea casts out or leaves behind or unearths for me to find.

I walk the beach for a couple of hours each day – in the mornings if the tide schedule allows, or in late afternoon or early evening if that coincides with low tide. Doesn’t matter to me when I walk the shore as long as I have a chance to do it most every day. 

Some days I have a friend or family member to stroll along with me, but most days I walk alone. I like both options – the walks with friends or family are lovely – memory-making walks, at times – while my solo walks are wonderful for contemplation and soul-searching, as well as being conducive to occasional sparks of creativity.

This summer while meandering the shoreline I’ve written song lyrics to which I may add music over these next few months, I’ve sketched plot outlines in my head for several stories I’d like to write, and I’ve snapped pictures of weird and wonderful things that captured my imagination.

My hours on the beach are hours that I treasure, just as I treasure the pieces of ‘beach glass’ (‘sea glass’) and pottery bits I sometimes find there.

Beach glass can be pieces of broken bottles or jars or glass dishes that have been percolating in the waves, sand and rocks for who-knows-how-long, until they are smooth and frosted and ready to be found, and pottery shards may have traveled many, many ocean miles before finding their way to my shore, so when I spy these gifts from Neptune I clean them off a bit and pop them into a bag I carry along with me just in case.

Some pieces of glass I find may not be quite ripe for the picking yet, and I usually return those pieces to their sea home – unless they are the rare blue or the even rarer red – I have a difficult time returning those gifts to Neptune because who knows if I’d ever find another piece of red or blue! So far I’ve only found one or two tiny red pieces of glass and half a dozen blue ones. And I’m keeping them all, thank you very much. 

Someone this summer looked at the bag of treasures I held after I had been ‘glassing’ for a few hours and commented that what I had in my hands was a ‘bag of garbage’.

“I don’t care,” I said. “Think of it as me doing my part to keep our beach neat and tidy. And I’ll be doing it again tomorrow and the tomorrow after that and the tomorrow after that.”

And I did.

Here are pictures of a small selection of glass and pottery shard treasures from my walks along my beach this summer, and I have a lot more pieces that I don’t have pictures of, so I’m afraid you’ll just have to take my word that they fill several large glass vases at my cottage.

And I love each and every piece. 

Thanks so much for stopping by. And remember, please don’t be a stranger!

8 thoughts on “Foto Friday: Oct 23, 2015

  1. Loved your post and your photos. Living only a mile from the beach I have the attraction as well, although we haven’t been finding much sea glass in this area lately. A friend who has a summer cottage on the beach in Delaware, USA collects sea glass and has been making little scenes and landscapes out of the pieces of glass ~ simple, yet beautiful! While swimming in August the undertoe pulled me down. Being stupid on that particular day, I had worn my prescription sun glasses into the ocean. They floated out to sea! Should you find a pair of glasses with purple frames and progressive lenses, they’re mine. Tell them I loved them well, they have been replaced!

    1. Oh Carol – I’m glad you weren’t hurt by the undertow but that’s too bad about losing your sunglasses. If they float my way I hope that you and I have the same prescription strength! And I do LOVE the color purple! 😎

  2. The walks sound wonderful and you’ve got some lovely pieces. I was visiting a gift shop at the Creamery in Tatamagouche earlier this month. There was quite a selection of sea glass and pottery shard jewelry – the pieces wrapped in wire, etc. I know you make beautiful jewelry as well, because I bought some in the gift shop at the Sackville info center for Christmas gifts last year.

    1. Yes, I was on a jewelry-making spree last year. Not as inclined to do it now as it took up so much of my time and there are just too many things I want to do. But I do have a few other ideas to use the glass for this winter, so I’ll let you know if I make anything new with them. I do love the look of hand crafted jewelry made with nice pieces of glass and good quality wire.
      Thanks, as always, for your nice comments, Barb.

    1. I walked the most this summer that I’ve done in years. I actually think I’ve become addicted to walking, which isn’t a bad thing – lots worse things I could spend my time doing, right? 🙂
      We should compare our collections one day – You show me yours and I’ll show you mine! LOL

Leave a Reply

