No talking about breasts today, friends – I promise. Instead, I think I’ll stick to a less controversial subject…hmmm…how about politics?

Vote2Just kidding, although politics is a hot topic right now around the physical and virtual water coolers both in the US and in my country of Canada.

It fills our social media sites and our news feeds and is covered and discussed on radio and television shows and commentaries everywhere, and of course everybody has an opinion about which political leader and what political party is the best one to take us through the next 4 years of government.

I have my own opinion, and my friends and relatives have theirs and we certainly don’t all agree, but that is exactly the way it should be and what we should expect in a democratically-run country during the campaigning that leads up to a Federal election.

VoteI will say this to my Canadian friends and family – please vote. If you didn’t do so during one of the advance polls then please go out on Oct 19 and mark your ballot. Please take voting seriously and think of it not only as your right and your privilege but also as a solemn duty that goes hand-in-hand with having that right and privilege.

Whoever you vote for, whatever party you think should be the one in power for the next few years, go and vote for them.

Please don’t say that you’re not going to bother voting because all the parties are the same and not one of them will care about us anyway once they get into power. Not only do I believe that we are duty-bound to vote but I think we owe it to the Canadians who came before us to honor them and the hard-fought and hard-won rights they bequeathed to us. I can’t imagine NOT voting.

I’ll leave my political writing at that for now. No sense belaboring my point, because I’m not a political pundit nor am I someone with a platform to promote, other than to say that I believe every Canadian aged 18 and over should care enough about this country we choose to live in to cast a ballot on Oct 19.

Now – on to something else. But what?   Thanksgiving

Well – late Happy Thanksgiving to my Canadian friends. I hope you all enjoyed a relaxing weekend surrounded by people that you care about. I hope you didn’t over-stuff yourselves with whatever you chose to eat and I hope you shared laughs and good times with your loved ones. 

I also hope that if the topic of conversation turned to politics at some point during the weekend that nobody became angry at anyone else over an opinion, but that you all encouraged each other to just go and vote on election day.

vote3That’s what we did during my little family gathering. Consensus was that the turkey was perfect, the side dishes were piping hot and delicious, the glasses of wine complemented the meal exactly as glasses of wine should do, and all of us sitting around the table would be voting this month. 

In my opinion, that is a lot to be thankful for. 

Bye for now, and remember, don’t be a stranger.

10 thoughts on “No Breasts Today

  1. I am unaware of the Canadian politics of late ~ we Americans have our own 3 ring circus going on down here to keep us distracted, but I agree ~ any country in which you have the opportunity to vote ~ USE IT!!
    As an American I am curious about your Canadian Thanksgiving. I think this is the first year I have been aware of it. Is it based on the harvest season? Are there traditional foods that are consumed by most Canadians for Thanksgiving? I noticed you mentioned you had a turkey as we do here. Educate me Sylvia!!

    1. Hi Carol–yes, you certainly have your own hands full with politics and politicians south of my border right now! Hope you are able to vote when your election comes up – November?
      As far as our Thanksgiving holiday goes, yes it has its roots in giving thanks for the harvest before the long Canadian winters kick in.
      I’m always surprised that most Canadians know about our US neighbors’ holidays and traditions but not so much the other way around. Makes me wonder why that is…maybe because we have a lot of American television channels and we see the ads (over and over and over again). LOL
      In any case, traditionally we cook a large turkey along with dressing (stuffing but not necessarily stuffed inside the bird), potatoes, carrots, gravy, squash and/or turnip, etc., and serve condiments of cranberry sauce, coleslaw, pickled beets, sweet mixed pickles, and crab apple and mint jelly. Dessert – if anyone has room for such a thing – is usually pumpkin pie with whipped cream or apple pie with ice cream.
      Dinner is always wonderful and people tend to eat too much (likely sounds similar to your Thanksgiving holiday meal in November, right?).
      One reason I like celebrating ours in October is that our weather is usually still lovely this time of the year – the leaves are at their most colorful and the temperatures historically are comfortable for going for an after-dinner walk to work off some of the aforementioned delicious dinner. Yesterday was a day worthy of shirtsleeves, for example, and the sun was shining.
      Thanks for showing an interest in our holidays – maybe sometime you’ll have a chance to come up this way in the fall and will be able to enjoy a Thanksgiving dinner with us – my door will be open to you, for sure!

      1. Thanks for this explanation as it’s also the first year I remember hearing about this Canadian Thanksgiving…perhaps my ears are just now beginning to hear! Do like the sound of that after-dinner walk-it-off session……

      2. Um, perhaps I’ve not introduced myself. This is Torrie from over at A.PROMPTreply….
        Anyway, the nature park and boardwalks sound like a divine way to walk off that dinner!

      3. I’m SO sorry, Torrie, for my mistake in replying as if you were Carol–I need to pay closer attention, don’t I? I’ll do my best to not let that happen again.
        Thanks for popping in, and please come by again. And hey–if you’re ever in my neck of the woods around Thanksgiving I’ll save a place for you at my table! 👍

      4. Thank you for your gracious invitation, I just may take you up on it some time! Thank you also for your description of your Canadian Thanksgiving. As a former educator, I would tend to blame Americans not knowing about things Canadian on our education system. I often said that it made no sense to me that our curriculum never included learning about our neighbors to the north and south. I guess it’s a “go meet them and find out for yourself” method of learning! Living in a beach community that welcomes many Canadian visitors in the summer we do celebrate dual holidays in the summer months!

  2. I agree completely. Everyone should vote. If the turnout at the advance polls are any indication, the number of people voting on the 19th should be good.

    1. Yes, I hope the advance polls are indeed an indication of overall voter turnout for this election. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Always love to read what you have to say, Barb.

Leave a Reply

