Announcing Spring and My Return to Blogging


Garden with some tulips and narcissus
Garden with some tulips and narcissus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi everyone–I know that I haven’t written a blog post for ages and can’t really think of an extra good reason to explain that lapse except to say that I was suffering from a combination of winter blues, a fibromyalgia flare-up, a bad dose of flu that lingered for weeks and a blogging block (exactly the same as writer’s block, actually).

But I’m back: Spring has finally appeared in New Brunswick, Canada, my fibromyalgia is still bad but bearable, my last remaining sign of my flu/cold is down to a cough that just doesn’t want to go away, and now I’m determined to get back to a more normal writing and blogging routine. Whew–that could be a lot of pressure but I am WOMAN and can handle it. I hope.

So what’s new with you? What did I miss? How have you been? I’ve been reading a lot of the blogs that I follow and can see that life does go on just fine without me around spouting off my nickel’s worth no more cents in Canada so I’ve had to change to a different coin denomination and can’t afford to use loonies or toonies, and while it’s refreshing to know that the world continues on its merry path of destruction without any input from me it’s also kind of sad to me in a narcissistic sort of way. But I know that it is a life lesson everyone needs to learn at some point –the world does NOT revolve around me, the individual, nor does it revolve around you or you or you or even you. We’re all in this together and none of us will make it out alive.

See what happens when I’ve been away from my blog for too long? I turn all philosophical and reflective and that’s probably not a good look for me, so I’ll stop.

Official seal of Sackville
Official seal of Sackville (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Want to know what the latest thing is that happened to me? I’m a little-bit famous today in my hometown of Sackville because Feona Seerattan, one of the brilliant photographers involved in a project called “Humans of Sackville” took a picture of me, my son and his girlfriend on Sunday when we were downtown and today she posted it on Facebook! Yay for Feona and her project partner, Ian Chew–check out their official FB community page when you have a chance and show them some love, and if you’re ever in Sackville, New Brunswick keep an eye open for one of them hanging around with a camera–you could become a little-bit-famous, too!

Meanwhile, here’s the picture that Feona posted today.

Notice my feet–once the month of April arrives I’m back in my sandals and bare feet while some people are still wearing winter boots…what can I say–I’m a rebel at heart.

Well, that’s my post for today, but I’ll be back again really soon; I promise. And in the meantime, don’t be a stranger, okay?

15 thoughts on “Announcing Spring and My Return to Blogging

  1. Welcome back, Sylvia. Sorry to hear you’ve been attacked on two fronts. Anyway, with spring trying really hard to arrive, better days must be ahead. I’m still in my winter coat except for a day and a half last week when it was like the middle of summer. Trees are in bud, itching to explode but I don’t know how they can when it’s so cold.

  2. Welcome Back! hope you are feeling a lot better. Always enjoy reading your blogs, so I am looking forward to getting more!!! Take it easy until you are back to 100% no point rushing.
    Glad you came back.

Leave a Reply

