Why Am I Dreaming Of Cruises Today?


Look at the water.
Look at the water.

Today I am dreaming of taking a cruise, possibly a lovely ten-day Caribbean one to exotic islands such as Antigua, St. Kitts, St. Lucia and Barbados. A (girl) friend of mine has offered to go with me and we would share a balcony stateroom, which would certainly make the trip more affordable for both of us. Hmmm.

I haven’t been to most of the islands (other than St. Thomas and the cruise line’s private island), listed in this particular itinerary and that adds to its appeal for me. But I hadn’t really planned to go on a cruise this year.

I have wonderful memories of the few cruises I’ve been fortunate enough to take and have lots of pictures (that I won’t bore you with at the moment), that give me warm, fuzzy feelings whenever I look at them. And I confess that I do look at them, whenever I’m feeling nostalgic or adventurous or in the dead of a Canadian snowstorm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne of my favorite vacation memories is of a ten-day cruise that my husband and I took in April 2009. We had a great trip–spent the early mornings on our balcony sipping coffee and eating pastries and watching the blue-green ocean wash past us in the ship’s wake.

We visited Aruba and Grenada and Dominica and spent our sea days beside one of the ship’s pools or relaxing in a lounge with a cold drink. Or eating. Most evenings we sat in the ship’s theater watching live performances and then headed to a smaller lounge to watch more live shows and sample a late-night cocktail before bed.

What a cute couple!
What a cute couple!

Not only was that cruise memorable for me because of the wonderful weather, food and entertainment we enjoyed, but it was also the last big vacation my husband and I took together; my Gary died from cancer in December 2009, and I am left with my memories of the wonderful years we shared and the special and not-so-special events we experienced together. And pictures that help keep memories fresh.

But today I am dreaming once again of taking a cruise to a warm tropical place where I will most certainly complain about the heat and humidity and will do my best to keep my over-heated body in water as much as possible, preferably with a cool drink (with or without a little pink umbrella) in my hand.

I wonder why, all of a sudden, I’m struck by this urge to migrate south for a few weeks.

Oh–right–now I remember! This may be the reason:

My driveway today.
My driveway today.
A tree in my back yard.
A tree in my back yard.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My deck–a perfect place to cool down if you’re hot!

Got to love winter in Atlantic Canada!

I suppose I should think about grabbing a shovel and clearing a path to my car. Or maybe not; the wind is still howling and the snow is still snowing and night is falling, so I’m pretty sure that snow-clearing will wait until tomorrow.

English: Photo of Mumford & Sons performing at...
English: Photo of Mumford & Sons performing at Dot to Dot Festival in Bristol, UK on May 23, 2009. Originally uploaded on Flickr by prusakolep. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Until then, I’m staying inside, in my jammies, with Mumford and Sons on my stereo, a glass of white wine by my side and my trusty laptop tempting me with pictures and blogs about relaxing in the Caribbean sun.

I’ll let you know if I do give in to my Caribbean craving, but for now I’m content to be where I am.

Thanks for dropping by to visit me, though, and please come back again. And remember– ‘don’t be a stranger’.

Bye for now.

12 thoughts on “Why Am I Dreaming Of Cruises Today?

    1. That really is one of the best reasons that I love cruising! Nothing to pack and unpack…meals are cooked for me…entertainment is chosen for me…even the sun seems to have been chosen for me! Wonderful!

      On Thu, Feb 14, 2013 at 12:34 AM, Sylvia Morice: Write the Words, Share the

  1. Such a wonderful memory to have on a cold winter day. And you’ll probably be longing for these clod inter days on those hot humid summer days, rare though they may be. That’s how I am, anyway!

    1. You’re right Lorna–I am fortunate to have great memories–and you’re right again–when it’s humid and hot in the summer I’ll be dreaming of being cool. Guess I’m just not easily pleased! 😀

    1. Yay! Good for you, Linda–hope you have an amazing time. And be sure to blog about it afterwards so that the rest of us mere mortals can drool!

      On Sat, Feb 9, 2013 at 9:30 PM, Sylvia Morice: Write the Words, Share the

Leave a Reply

