Dust Bunny Ornaments and More Random December Thoughts


I realize that it’s been quite some time since I’ve posted, and that simply has to change….so…here are some random December thoughts.

christmas 2007
christmas 2007 (Photo credit: paparutzi)
  • It is December 3 already and I am in no way in the Christmas/Holiday spirit, so any ideas to help me achieve the needed inspiration/state of mind would be greatly appreciated. Wine and chocolate might help, but I don’t think they would do the trick entirely because I don’t think it would be a good idea to do my Christmas shopping and decorating intoxicated by either or both of these substances. But I’ve been wrong before so I’m not saying a definite ‘no’ to the possibilities. 
  • I attended my father’s eighty-sixth birthday gathering Sunday night and have to say that it is amazing to see what great shape he’s in for his age (or for ANY age). His winter schedule is as follows: Curls Monday mornings and plays duplicate bridge Monday nights….plays men’s bridge Tuesday nights….curls Thursday mornings, plays duplicate bridge Friday afternoons….plays marathon bridge every second week, entertains friends or goes to friends’ homes on Friday and/or Saturday nights…goes to church Sunday mornings…Sunday afternoon he actually takes it easy and watches curling or golf on television. Whew! I am exhausted just typing out his schedule of activities…here’s to another twenty years, dad!
  • I cleaned out my refrigerator this afternoon–I found things growing in there that I can’t even identify and have taken samples to send to NASA. I may have either discovered the cure for the common cold or I have grown bacteria that will cause the end of the world as we know it; not sure which but either way I’m sure my name will become infamous because of this.
  • Christmas lights on Aleksanterinkatu.
    Christmas lights on Aleksanterinkatu. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    All of my neighbors, and in fact all of the townspeople where I live have their homes decorated for Christmas already (except me). I am still waiting to put my garden hose away for the winter and rake the leaves from my lawn and store the garden-swing cushions in the shed. Have I ever mentioned that I am known around these parts as being a procrastinator?

  • Because I’m a self-published author I am now experiencing the joys of marketing my paperback book…do you know how difficult it is for me to walk into a bookstore and ask if they would like to carry copies of said book? Bullet point one above mentions wine and chocolate–I think those substances may really come in handy for situations like this…I’ll let you know how I do as I have to scout out other bookstores soon. (So far the two stores I’ve approached have been very receptive to supporting a local writer and are now carrying my paperback book Postcards From Home, so ‘yay’ for local independent stores!)
  • Would it be terribly wrong of me to sneak into the two local stores that carry my book and just look at it on their shelves every day? Would it be even more wrong to take my camera and snap pictures of my book on their shelves? And how much more wrong would it be for me to pose with my book and ask a clerk or a random shopper to snap multiple pics for me?
  • Dust bunnies
    Dust bunnies (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    Does anyone know of a craft idea that uses dust bunnies? The bunnies in my house have been multiplying like crazy this past month and I now have enough of them to make something useful and/or beautiful but I don’t know what to make other than dust bunny ornaments–mix dust bunnies together with craft glue and apply a thick coat of them to cover a used light bulb–add dryer lint for hair, cut off the toe of a sock that lost its mate in the washing machine and glue it onto the light bulb as a toque, fashion eyes and a mouth from scraps of thread or yarn you have laying around the house and loop twine around the neck as a noose and to hang the bulb on your tree. How festive is that! And it’s free, too. Wow–I think I just solved my Christmas gift-giving dilemma. Let’s see now–I need an ornament for my mother-in-law, one for little Billy, one for the postman, one for you…

    Lighted Tree
    Lighted Tree (Photo credit: Bob.Fornal)

That’s it for now. Will write again soon, and don’t be a stranger.

15 thoughts on “Dust Bunny Ornaments and More Random December Thoughts

  1. Hi Sylvia–Do it, take a picture of you and your book. I have taken picture of books I have a story in! Hang in there. Can’t wait until your collection of designer dust bunny ornaments is featured at Nordstroms!

    1. LOL–that’s a great idea, Michelle–we don’t have Nordstroms around here but there is a designer-quality gift store nearby–maybe I’ll approach them with my ornament idea!

    1. Thanks, Linda–maybe it would be nice to sell millions of both things, though–books and dust bunny ornaments! Then I could write another book about “How I Sold One Million Dust Bunny Ornaments And Became Filthy Stinking Rich!”

  2. You put a lot of labor and love into that book. Why not celebrate it by taking a picture? Or 5? That’s what I’d say. Congratulations.

    As for decorating and getting into the Christmas mood, what about breaking the decorating tasks into smaller chores and doing some each day? And I would recommend playing Christmas music while you’re doing this…always puts me in the Christmas mood! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Eagle-Eye–you’re right–I did put a lot of labor and love into that book, so why shouldn’t I take a few pics of it in the stores! And you’re also right about breaking down the Christmas chores into manageable chunks–the only thing I don’t like about that is that the ‘mess’ of boxes and stuff hangs around for longer, too…and that makes me frustrated! Just call me Grinch this year…LOL

  3. I have decorated the house, but I’ve stalled when it comes to decorating the tree. My hubby has even rearranged the furniture so I can put it up and decorate it, but there sits an empty spot. Ah well, I’m sure I’ll hop out of bed motivated to put up the tree one of these days. Hey! Maybe I’ll even decorate it too.

  4. Re; sneaking into that store…yes do it, take that picture and don’t sneak! Go boldly and have someone take a picture of you next to your books. My hubby and I wrote and published his story, Sharkman of Cortez in 2010 and we have MANY pictures of our books gracing shelves. You need to do this! And I stalked the stores and kept count of how many they sold. It’s a must!

    1. Haha–thanks for the encouragement! And congratulations on publishing your husband’s story–I must look it up online to read what it’s about. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Leave a Reply

