Dear Hugh–Sorry I Missed Your Call


Dear Hugh (Laurie, of course),

Sorry that I missed your call Saturday night; I would have loved to get together with you, but alas, you left it too late and I had already made another date for the evening. I appreciate the fact that you really wanted to meet me and spend time with me, and I regret that you were left to wallow in your disappointment.

I went to supper Saturday night with my nephew and his lovely wife and my sister-in-law. It would have been nice if you had joined us at the Bossa Nova restaurant, but of course you couldn’t have searched ALL the eateries in Hollywood to find me–that would have just been bizarre (but I do thank you for trying so hard and searching the one hundred that you did).

After supper that night we headed up to Griffith Park to the observatory there. I saw wonderful views of LA at night, and am pretty sure that, along with spying the Batman signal illuminating the sky, I saw another light that kept flashing, “Sylvia–Please Call Me”. I’m sorry now that I didn’t have my cell phone on me at the time–it would have been worth the ‘roaming fee’ just to hear your voice again.

Taken in my hotel complex. Sorry you weren’t there, Hugh.

I’m heading back to Canada today so of course won’t be able to make it to your house party this week–I do appreciate the invitation, though, and hope you manage to have a great time anyway, even though it will be without me by your side. Try to smile through your tears, Hugh, try to smile through your tears. That’s the best advice I can give you at this time.

Thanks again for trying, Hugh–I really appreciate it. And don’t be a stranger, okay?

Love,
Sylvia

12 thoughts on “Dear Hugh–Sorry I Missed Your Call

      1. Absolutely! Like a friend said one day, I think the sexiest organ in a man’s body is the bit between his ears, and House has loads of that! Nice to make your acquaintance…:). I downloaded Postcards from home today and may just abandon JK Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy tonight to read some of it!
        Greetings from Johannesburg!
        Gerda

      2. Hi Gerda–Thanks so much for dropping by. And also, thank you for downloading Postcards From Home–you’ll have to let me know what you think of it (good or not-good, I want to know either way). Lovely to meet you, too–hope the weather in Johannesburg is nicer than it is here today (it’s snowing and also gives a chance of freezing rain). It’s a good day to be inside by the fire and I’m taking advantage of that. 🙂

  1. LOL … well, at least you did get to enjoy the company of another handsome male specimen … not that I’m bragging or anything 😉 and my boy also hails from Britain, on his father’s mother’s side … a stretch, true, but we’re grasping at straws here, right ? 🙂

Leave a Reply

