As You Wish: Little-Known Facts About The Princess Bride on Its 25th Anniversary | Tor.com


The Princess Bride
The Princess Bride (Photo credit: Rev Dan Catt)

The Princess Bride is probably my family’s top favorite movie of all time. Made in 1987 its cast of amazing actors, memorable lines, enough action to satisfy the most boyish-boy and enough romance to satisfy any girlish-girl had something for everyone in the family.

We loved that film and we watched it over and over and over again while the kids were growing up. And they watched it with their friends, sometimes introducing them to the beloved characters they hadn’t yet had an opportunity to meet but that soon became some of their favorites, too.

And my family randomly quoted lines from the film–even during the most inopportune times it would not be unusual for one of us to start a rhyming dialogue in deference to Andre the Giant’s (Fezzik) and Wallace Shawn’s (Vizzini) characters. “Stop it; I mean it.” “Anybody want a peanut?” Or we would quote one of Mandy Patinkin’s (Inigo Monotya) famous lines, “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

The Princess Bride (film)
The Princess Bride (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Who on earth could not love writing like that? I really believe that the humor we extracted from this film and carried forward in our family saved us a lot of arguments during what could have been stressful years. How could teenagers stay angry or upset when the mom or dad is rhyming lines to them? My teenagers couldn’t–they couldn’t resist slipping into character and continuing the silliness along with us. As I said, saved a lot of stress.

So tonight I was browsing Facebook and noticed that someone mentioned that this fall marks the 25th anniversary of the film, The Princess Bride, and I just had to share that with you. Aren’t you excited? I surely am. (…don’t call me Shirley–oops–that’s from another favorite film of my family’s and is in no way to be confused with The Princess Bride).

I browsed the web and found several sites that discussed the 25th anniversary, and I decided to post a tidbit from one of them here so that you can go to that site and read the full article. Worth a few minutes of your time, surely. (…and stop calling me Shirley….)

To William Goldman for writing the book from which the movie script was adapted, to The Princess Bride cast and crew, and to Rob Reiner for producing this film, I salute you and say, “Thank you, from all my family and friends that have loved and continue to love this piece of cinematography that you bestowed on us.”

In fact, at my daughter’s wedding in August we walked down the aisle to the guitar strums of her friend, Adam, playing the theme song, ‘Storybook Love’, from guess what movie–that’s right, The Princess Bride.

Now I think I’ll pop some popcorn and go downstairs to watch The Princess Bride again. It is one film that I surely will never tire of seeing. (…don’t call me Shirley…)

Is or was there a particular movie that your family enjoyed watching together? Please leave a comment and share it with us! Thanks, and don’t be a stranger.

_________________________________________________________________

Following is the beginning of the article I Pressed from Tor.com:

As You Wish: Little-Known Facts About The Princess Bride on Its 25th Anniversary

EMILY ASHER-PERRIN

It’s The Princess Bride’s 25th anniversary! But before you break out your favorite fire swamp and brute squad quotes, let’s take a moment to properly appreciate what is easily one of the greatest fantasy films of all time (and also one of the funniest). Then you can quote it. Or act out the entire Westley-Inigo duel. Or fight someone To The Pain. In fact, let’s just instate a yearly tradition where we all get together and recreate the whole movie on September 25. We’ll call it Project Dread Pirate Roberts.

Continue reading the article here: via As You Wish: Little-Known Facts About The Princess Bride on Its 25th Anniversary | Tor.com.

9 thoughts on “As You Wish: Little-Known Facts About The Princess Bride on Its 25th Anniversary | Tor.com

    1. Thank you, Lorna, for the nice comment. My daughters wedding was a special day for sure. Am anxiously waiting to see the photographer’s pics…hopefully there will be more good ones!

    1. Yes..I really do love it. Thanks for stopping by…what is your favorite movie of all time, by the way? That’s a question I should have posed in my post…hmmm…maybe I will do that now. 🙂

  1. My family too … it’s become a “family classic”, loved and enjoyed by 3 generations so far … my grandkids are now being raised on Princess Bride quotes and trivia … like you said, it’s one of those rare gems of a move which appeals and speaks to ‘kids’ of all ages … (yes, I still consider myself a ‘kid’ when it comes to something like that). There will never be another like it.

    Just last week I watched a new episode of ‘Perception’, which stars Eric MacCormack. In this episode the guest star was Cary Elwes (Westley), who played the ‘ghostly assistant of the week’ … but throughout the entire program, even though the subject was about solving a murder, I kept seeing Westley behind the grown-up face of Cary … it was as though it was Westley playing a part, not Cary …

    And who can watch Mandy Patinkin in anything these days and not see the suave swashbuckling Inigo quoting those other famous lines – “Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya … you killed my father … prepare to die!”

    I wonder how it must feel for those actors to be so ‘typecast’ … do they find it flattering? or has it hampered how their careers might have developed otherwise? One can only wonder. They dont’ answer my phone calls.

Leave a Reply

