Out, Damned Virus! Out, I Say!


William Shakespeare
William Shakespeare (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My apologies to William Shakespeare and to one of his famous characters, Lady MacBeth, for borrowing her famous line and changing it to suit my own purposes, but I assure you that I have a good reason for doing so.

I’M SICK!

Now, I hate to sound like a whiny baby about this, but I don’t like being sick one little bit…and have I mentioned that I’m sick? No? Well, I am. Sick, that is, and I don’t like it, not one little bit.

And no, it doesn’t make me feel any better to know that other people in my town are huddled in their beds too, boxes of tissue and bottles of pills beside them, coughing and sneezing and blowing their noses and bringing up god-knows-what awful stuff from the depths of their lungs, nor does it make me feel better to know that there are lots of worse things that could be wrong with me than this cold bug that has hit so hard.

Want to know what would make me feel better? FEELING BETTER, that’s what would make me feel bettert!

Coughing Fit

But I’m trying to be brave, trying to not hate people who are outside these days, enjoying the sun-shiny remnants of September without a care in the world, and trying to remember, as my mother and her mother and her mother’s mother said before me, “This too shall pass.” All I can say is that it darn well better pass, ’cause this lady isn’t enjoying life one little bit right now’.

Now be a dear, and hand me a tissue and a glass of Sambuca (to cut my cough, you understand), and I  won’t put a curse on you and all your household for the good health that you happen to enjoy.

Witch's Cauldron

Or maybe I will.

“Double, double, toil and trouble,
Fire burn and cauldron bubble.” (More apologies to Shakespeare and MacBeth.)

I’m sick, and apparently I’m not in a particularly good mood. Deal with it.

And don’t be a stranger! (Now, isn’t that a great ending for such a ranting, twisted post!)

13 thoughts on “Out, Damned Virus! Out, I Say!

  1. I agree with all the above: chicken soup and LOTS of garlic. A little Sambuca can’t hurt either. If you want to sweat it out: hot milk, a tablespoon of butter (generous), honey and your spirits of choice (to taste), i.e. rum(?). How about whisky? Bundle up well in bed, and no toes out from under the covers. In the morning you’ll be a new woman. Write me. I want to hear about it.

    Take care, Sylvia.

    1. I thought milk isn’t supposed to be good when a person is congested (or is that just an old-wives tale?). I’m feeling a bit better today, though, so hopefully am on the mend. Thanks for your suggestions–I may try them out–but are you sure that I can’t even stick my baby toes out of the covers? You do know how hot I get, right? LOL

  2. I hear a lot of people are coming down with some malady or another. I think it may be all the allergens in the air from such a wonky summer. But maybe it is just an old-fashioned cold. Whatever it is, get better. I hear blackberry brandy works wonders for any ailment of any sort. I never heard that yelling at a cold will scare it away, but, if you have the energy, what’s the harm? 😉

  3. Garlic, and lots of it !! Especially good if there’s any vampires in your vicinity 😉 And Grammie’s chicken soup works better if there’s some spice in it, like a dash of cloves, and mustard, and turmeric, and ginger … and of course lots of garlic 🙂 LOL … seriously though, I hope this does pass soon … gotta set up another bridge game 🙂

Leave a Reply

