Award: I Have No Bloody Idea What It’s Called Or Who It’s From!


Academy Award

It sucks to be me.

I received a very lovely blog award last week but for the life of me I can’t remember who it was from or how to find it now! Extremely frustrating for a person who really tries to keep all events tracked in a spreadsheet or daily diary, but, as hard as I’ve tried, I can’t remember who granted this ‘Oscar-Worthy’ nomination to me for my blog Ramblings of a Writer.

Was it you? You? Maybe you, over there in the corner? Or you, curled up in the rocking chair by the fire?

I’ve searched the comments section in my blog, I’ve searched my email account for anything that remotely looks familiar to me as being from the lovely person that nominated my blog for an award or that has a subject heading of ‘Award”, but couldn’t find anything remotely connected to such a thing, and I’ve scanned numerous blogs that I follow, hoping to stumble upon the one site that mentions receiving an award that has to be passed on to fellow bloggers, but no luck.

Nothing. Nada. Zero, as in Zilch.

I’ve racked my brain for a clue as to where to search next. Nothing. Nada. Zero, as in Zilch.

A sad face.
A sad face. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So it is with a heavy heart that I bring my problem to the daylight, possibly to become the scourge and laughing-stock of bloggers and readers everywhere, but my conscience won’t let me forget about this. After all, I promised the fellow blogger that I would write about the award in a few days–that was maybe on the weekend, as far as my befuddled brain can recall–and I haven’t written about it yet, so the poor person has been waiting for my acceptance speech to appear in his or her inbox (I’m ‘pretty sure’ it was a ‘her’…but not 100% sure so am hedging my bets there), and nothing from me has appeared.

How exactly do I go about accepting an award when I can’t even remember its name or who bestowed it on me?

Very difficult to do, as it turns out. I remember that the blogger had to write a bunch of facts about herself (pretty sure it was a her), and then nominate other blogs for the award–but I don’t remember the exact number: six? seven? fifteen? Not sure.

I remember that there wasn’t a picture of the award on the site (not on my iPad, anyway, which is where I think I was reading my email at the time). I’m sure if there had been a picture then I would have more readily recalled the name of the award. I think it had a longish name…but not too longish…only shortish-longish, if you know what I mean.

Anyway, that’s my confession for today. If you have nominated my blog for an award–or if you would LIKE to nominate my blog for an award, then please contact me again! Leave a comment or drop me an email, and this time I’ll be sure to copy and paste that sucker into the spreadsheet that  I’m going to start today to track these things.

English: Spreadsheet
English: Spreadsheet (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Thank you for understanding. And don’t be a stranger.

PS: And don’t forget to check your recent awards to see if you’ve perhaps nominated this sucky blogger lately. Thanks so much.

Sucky Sylvia

13 thoughts on “Award: I Have No Bloody Idea What It’s Called Or Who It’s From!

  1. I don’t know what email service you use, but I know I can search my email not just for the subject line, but for content. Did you try that? If you deleted the email and didn’t empty the folder, that would be good…

    Good luck. You’re not Sucky Sylvia. You’re Human Sylvia.

  2. I hate when that happens. Hopefully someone will respond and the mystery will be solved. Some mornings when I wake up, I have to check the name tag on my nightie. Now THAT’S B-A-D. You’re still OK. *giggles impishly*

    1. Thanks, Tess–so far nobody has stepped forward to tap me on the shoulder and say, ‘hey, you there with the short memory–it was ME! Don’t you remember?”

      But I’ll keep wishing and hoping and thinking and…hey, that’s a song that Dusty Springfield sang years ago…now it’s in my head! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

    1. Thanks, Lucky Star, but the one I’m talking about was from another blogger. I do remember winning the Global eBook Award for Humor for my book Postcards From Home, so at least that might mean I haven’t totally lost all my marbles just yet. 🙂

      I’m hoping the person who nominated me will read this post and pull my scrawny behind out of the fire.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, and come back soon.

Leave a Reply

