July Is Over: Hello August Wedding!


Marriage
Marriage (Photo credit: Lel4nd)

Today marks the last day of July, and oh my, how the summer is flying by! Evenings in my area are already getting dark earlier than just a week ago, and the nights are cooling down enough that sleeping is comfortable, even without a fan circulating air. (Of course, if you read one of my recent posts, you’ll know that I’m only hearing about this ‘sleeping is comfortable’ notion second-hand from others, as I don’t sleep.)

Tomorrow is the beginning of August, and this August means there will be a flurry of activity in my life and in the lives of some of my favorite people, as my lovely daughter (I almost wrote ‘little girl’, but figured I’d better not as she might read my blog), will marry the love of her life on August 25.

The ceremony and reception will take place at a beautiful Inn in our little town, and if the weather is good that day, Erin and Geoff will exchange their vows in the Inn’s manicured garden. Inclement weather means the ceremony will be moved inside, but my dentist told me about a sure-fire way to prevent bad weather from ruining an outdoor wedding.

English: Broom
English: Broom (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Hang a broom in a tree,” he said to me while my mouth was full of rubber and he was replacing a filling.

“Mhaat?” (That means “what”, but is the way it sounded when my mouth was full of rubber and drills and gloved hands.)

“That’s what my fiancée did last summer on our wedding day,” he said. “The forecast was predicting a storm, so she hung a broom in a tree at our cottage and that staved off the rain. Our wedding went ahead outside, as planned. Apparently it’s an ‘Acadian‘ thing,” he added.

Today I  tried to find other suggestions for preventing bad weather, but didn’t have much success in my search.

On the other hand, when I researched what rain means if it happens on a wedding day, I discovered that it is actually considered to be good luck. Rain cleanses, allowing the happy couple to start fresh in their marriage. Rain also signifies unity; when couples ‘tie the knot’ in the rain, a wet knot is tighter and more difficult to untie than is a dry one, meaning the marriage bond will not be easily broken. That’s good news, right?

So rain or shine, my little girl (oops, forgot again that I wasn’t going to call her that), will marry her fiancée on August 25, and on that day I know there will be a few tears shed (perhaps representing raindrops), along with many bright smiles (like the bright sun), and everything will be perfect.

English: no original description. Most likely ...
English: no original description. Most likely a Roomba 530. Recharge base on top, transformer on top left. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But we’ll hang a broom in a tree just to be sure. I wonder if it has to be a corn broom or if a synthetic one would do. And if I can’t find a broom that day, would it be okay to hang up my Roomba, Hal (named for the computer in the movie, 2001: A Space Odyssey)? He’s kind-of like a broom, except he’s round. And after the wedding I can let him vacuum up leaves in my yard; I’m sure by the end of August they will have begun to fall.

Fall! Yikes! Another post for another day.

Expect to read more about the wedding plans as the big day draws nearer, though, and I spiral into ‘panic mode’; I’m not very good at  keeping my life out of my blog, no matter how determined I am when I sit down to write. So I apologize in advance by saying, “Sorry. Hope you don’t mind.”

Thanks, and don’t be a stranger.

8 thoughts on “July Is Over: Hello August Wedding!

  1. A grand idea: do have all your friends hang up those brooms. How could the weather not co-operate when you have such unity of purpose? Surely you’ll have lovely weather for your daughter’s big day.

  2. I’m sure it will be a beautiful day no matter what! However, I can hang a corn broom from our tree if that will help!!

    1. You may have something there, Barb–maybe I’ll ask all my friends to put brooms in trees…and then tell the news people…we could have a great story in the media (unless, of course, it rains that day–then we might look silly)…but yes, put a broom in a tree for Erin that day…that would be great–and take a picture, too, to send to me.

  3. I hadn’t heard about the “broom in the tree” to ward off rain ~ then again, I’m an American, what do we know? I wish you a month of stress-free, fun filled activity leading up to the wedding Sylvia.
    I do LOVE the idea (to change subjects for a minute) of the Roomba that runs around the yard gobbling up leaves. After the wedding, work on getting that idea marketed!

    1. Hi Carol–thanks for picking up on the idea of a giant Roomba to help pick up leaves..I love it and thought–yes, I should market it–then my son just burst my bubble by telling me that John Deere just came out with a machine that does just that…sigh. wish I had thought of my idea sooner. Guess that’s why I’ll never be rich!

    1. I’ve never heard of the ‘hat’ idea to ward off rain, but I think I’ll give it a try on Erin’s wedding day–a broom and a hat in a tree…could be a story there! Thanks for dropping by and commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

