Wedding Preparations In Full Swing


Cambridge-University-Library
Cambridge-University-Library (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This past week has been a busy one in my household. My daughter has been home from Ontario for a short break between semesters; she will complete her Master’s of Library and Information Science degree this coming August, so has only one term left to complete. The program has been arduous but she has aced it so far and I have no reason to doubt that with her ability and determination she will finish the degree the same way. Then, of course, the job hunt begins in earnest.

To add to her stress, she has to vacate her apartment in Ontario by the end of August as her lease there expires, so she will have to pack up all her belongings, again, and either ship them to a new address or send them to a storage unit to hold until she has a new address.

And the icing on the cake…she is getting married just two weeks after her last class ends! So not only is she studying this coming semester, and working a part-time job in the university library, and packing her belongings to move, but she is neck-deep in wedding preparations…long-distance.

Wedding Dress For Happy Couple in Love
Wedding Dress For Happy Couple in Love (Photo credit: epSos.de)

She is in Ontario, her fiance is in Nova Scotia, and she is getting married in New Brunswick! Lots of plans are being made with the help of emails, long-distance phone calls, and the “mother of the bride”, aka “me”, running errands and contacting local vendors.

I was the one who booked the wedding venue, and I had to do it without my daughter even seeing it in photos…I know that she usually trusts my judgement and I really thought that I chose the best option available in my smallish town, but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t nervous yesterday when we went to view the site together.

White House Grand Staircase looking north.
White House Grand Staircase looking north. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I held my breath as I opened the front door and we walked in. My daughter took her first look around, saw the two inviting parlors off the main entrance, gazed at the grand staircase leading upstairs to the bedrooms, walked into the dining areas that would hold the wedding reception and dance, and then she smiled. She smiled her famous, face-lights-up-completely smile that can break hearts or mend them, depending on the circumstances.

Once I saw that smile, I breathed again, knowing that I had definitely made the right choice for my baby girl’s upcoming wedding celebration.

We chatted with the owner of the Inn and my daughter asked a few questions from her list of questions. Then we walked outside to view the gardens, where, barring in-climate weather, the wedding ceremony will be held, late in the afternoon on an August Saturday.

The gardens are just greening up now from their winter’s sleep, but the promise that they show, of color and form and graceful waving beauty, is evident already, and once again, my daughter smiled her smile.

Light-Up-The-Room Smile!

I was safe–no foul, no strikes, no batter out! I knew that I had struck a home-run, so I did an imaginary celebratory lap around the bases while the crowd cheered me on!

Maybe, when this wedding is over and done with, I could begin a new career–I could become a wedding-planner and help other brides-to-be realize their dreams. Or maybe not.

By the time we finished our afternoon at the Inn and then at the local florists, I was tired and was more-than-ready to relax with a glass of wine.

This wedding-planning is emotionally exhausting, and I’m not as young as I used to be.

But I’ll keep you up-to-date with these particular wedding preparations, as I have more tasks to do in the upcoming months and writing about them just may help to keep my sanity intact a while longer. Or maybe not.

###

16 thoughts on “Wedding Preparations In Full Swing

  1. My daughter is only 4 but school events like her first field trip already gave me nerves so it must be so many times over for a wedding. I’m glad to know that she trusts your judgment, that makes everything a lot easier. 😉

  2. Weddings are a lot of work for sure! You just have to take some deep breaths now and then to relax a bit and then keep moving forward – of course, a glass of wine after the deep breaths doesn’t hurt either!

  3. I am so glad you were rewarded with that smile that lights up the world! I never doubted that you would be. What a joy filled task for you, Mom! Obviously you know how to make your daughter happy! Can’t wait for the next installment.

    1. Thanks, Carol! Yes, I was very relieved to find out that Erin was happy with my choice. She also liked the invitations I picked out for her at Michael’s, too, so I’m obviously on a roll! Thanks for popping by!

  4. OMG. The time has gone so quickly. I remember reading on your blog when your new favourite son-in-law-to-be asked YOU before popping the question. How time flies. I’m sure it will be a beautiful wedding.
    They’re young so they can handle all the extra work and you can always rest afterwards . . . LOL

    1. Yes, Tess, time is really flying by now…seemed like such a long time to the wedding when initial plans were made last August…now it will be here before we know it! And yes, I’m sure I will need a rest after it is over…LOL

  5. Forgot to mention, for her second wedding, she looked after the arrangements … she said “You did it all the first time Mum, now it’s my turn.” 🙂

  6. So glad you’re finally getting to experience the ‘mother-of-the-bride’ world … I remember years ago, for Heather’s first wedding, the bride and groom were in Wolfeville NS, and the wedding was in Fredericton, so guess-who did all the footwork 🙂 It was a lot of work, for sure, but it all paid off in the end – as you will undoubtedly discover the day of the wedding when you can just relax and smile along with the bride 🙂

  7. Enjoy!! I love your short stories and look forward to reading all about the wedding plans! Say hi to Erin…take care

Leave a Reply

