No Such Thing as Too Many Blog Awards


I wanted to take this opportunity to thank  Mark (aka the “Idiot”)  at The Idiot Speaketh, for nominating me for another blog award–the Keative Blogger Award. According to the rules of the award I now need to share 10 facts about myself on my blog and then nominate 10 other deserving  bloggers for the award.

By the way, be sure to check out Mark’s blog–it is one of the funniest ones I’ve come across in the blog-o-sphere and apparently I’m not the only person who thinks this–Mark is due to hit the 2 MILLION views milestone on his blog today! Wouldn’t it be nice to be one of the readers who celebrate this with him? I think so.

Idiot is also pedaling his way across America via his stationary bike–he updates readers on his virtual progress and even though he is still recovering from recent foot surgery he is back on his bike. The last update on the trip from Idiot a few days ago gave us these facts:

***** 2012 Crawling my way back to the Pacific Bike Tour **********

Miles this year: 166
Days on Bike: 8
Avg miles per day: 20.7

Current Location: The Idiot is now pedaling near Benton, Arkansas.

Note: Idiot lives in Texas.

Okay–enough about someone else–now it’s my turn.

Ten random facts about me:

  1. When I was a little girl I couldn’t pronounce any ‘r’ in a word–thus everyone thought that I was a ‘Yankee’. I said things like, “Let’s go in the caa.” “Is it faa to go?” and “I want to wide my bike.” I eventually learned how to pronounce all the letters of the alphabet and haven’t stopped talking since.
  2. I have had a ‘cold’ since Jan 4–is that even possible?
  3. I spend way too much of my time on the computer. Wait a minute–is that even possible?
  4. I really want to be a published writer when I grow up (what I really mean by published is famous).
  5. My childhood dream was to become a missionary, or a psychologist, or a comedienne. The only profession I figure it isn’t too late for me to try is the comedienne one…after all, look at what Betty White can still do at age 90!
  6. I don’t like wearing winter boots or even closed-in shoes. (I may have already shared that fact about me but it’s worth repeating!)
  7. I have had several abdominal surgeries and the last time my doctor examined my middle section he commented that my scars look like tattoos of Chinese symbols. (He obviously is not known for his bedside manners.)
  8. I am too scared to ever get a real tattoo, even though my son has one and my daughter has one–I figured I did my part by having my son and my daughter.
  9. It dawned on me a few years ago that I am not actually overweight–I am simply not as tall as I should be.
  10. I cannot cook a lobster–put it alive into a pot of boiling water with just enough salt added to make the lobster meat tasty–but I have no problem with eating a lobster that someone else has cooked. Does that make me a bad person?

Okay–that’s it about me. Now to name 10 other bloggers/blog sites that deserve the Kreative Blogger Award:

So there you have it, folks–my list of 10 blogs for you to check out. And be sure to go to Idiot’s Blog, too–and tell him that Sylvia says ‘hi, eh?‘ He’ll know what you mean.

18 thoughts on “No Such Thing as Too Many Blog Awards

  1. Sylvia, Thanks for thinking of me and presenting me with this award. I haven’t been spending as much time as I should with my writing lately. I am down in the dumps, and very tired for a long while. But this award might be just what I need to start up on my blogging again. Thanks!
    mo

  2. Fun post, Sylvia. My son had the same problem (pwablem) with his r’s. At baseball games he would “woot, woot, woot fo the home team.” After a few years of speech therapy and several “talk like a pirate” days he finally mastered it. So, naturally he wants to go to college in Boston someday, where nobody uses an r.

  3. Hi, Sylvia,

    Thank you for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award, and congratulations to you for receiving one yourself. Now here’s my question: if you are nominated for this award does that mean that you are being merely considered for it, or does it mean that you are awarded the award?

    Happy blogging!

    Ronnie

  4. Congratulations on your blog award Sylvia! You deserve every one of them!! I can’t believe you didn’t smack that doctor after his comment about the Chinese characters. I think we could probably be bookends… with the exception that my road map has a long road leading in from open heart surgery. Gives my bod character!

  5. Congratulations on your new blog award. Now I’ve got to check out all those blog recommendations. Then I’ll be spending way too much time on the computer! Is that possible???

  6. Hi Sylvia … just wanted to thank you for including me on your list … as a ‘new blogger’ I’ll really have to dig to find 10 other bloggers to pass this along to LOL I guess that’s incentive for me to keep writing, eh?
    BTW – if you give me a diagram of the symbols on your belly, I’ll see if Lynn can translate 🙂

  7. Thank you SO much for including me in your ten blog recommendations! I am so honored! And I really liked reading and getting to know you a little better! That is always fun to get to know the person behind the blog a bit! 🙂 Thank you again, I am honored!
    Jaime

Leave a Reply

