Quick History of the American Recession


I thought this infographic succinctly outlines the history of the American recession and is worth taking a look at. Even though I don’t live in the US, its economic health certainly influences the economic health and wealth of many other nations, including Canada. In fact, I well remember the 1980s recession when mortgage rates went sky-high, although I don’t think that recession was anything on the scale of the US housing bubble collapse that is affecting so many Americans this decade.

Do you have your own thoughts on the reasons for the current US recession? I’d love to hear from you.

3 thoughts on “Quick History of the American Recession

  1. I live in Canada but read something about the snowball effect with similar charts to the one you share in 2005 or 2006, if I can find it, I’ll post a link. Don’t know if I still have it. Also read the Tipping Point. There is one with every thing. A tipping point, I mean. One way or the other we tip and tip back… eventually… I think the Mayan calendar was about much more than end of earth meanderings… I think it may have been an accidental indicator of a change in our way of being on earth… perhaps for the better… eventually. Thanks for sharing this, Sylvia 🙂 Wherever we are heading, apparently we travel together.

  2. I don’t live in the U.S. either but it’s bothersome that we rely on our “neighbour” so much are are so affected by what happens there. Of course the whole Euro things is frankly scaring the crap out of me but am hopeful this too will pass. Soon, I hope.

Leave a Reply

