Freshly Pressed and Versatile Blogger Award


 

Two important housekeeping items I want to do today. First I want to thank wordpress.com for choosing my blog post “I Have Met the Enemy and She Is…Mosquito” for featuring on their Freshly Pressed site on Friday June 10. The Freshly Pressed page said it was featuring: The best of 377,263 bloggers,445,352 new posts, 388,846comments, & 94,594,533 words posted today on WordPress.com.

This wonderful recognition brought over 10,000 readers to my blog over the three-day period of Friday-Sunday. I am honoured and amazed and really loved the comments that readers left for me. Check them out when you have a chance.

I also want to give a huge “Thank You”  to Ginger Couturier http://gingercouturier.wordpress.com for honouring me with the “Versatile Blogger Award“.  From what I can gather this award floats around ‘blogger-ville’ , passing from one deserving blogger to another…I guess kind of like a cold virus, but without the cough.

Before I so graciously accepted this award, I decided to check into the rules; I didn’t want to find out too late that I would be expected to run, naked, around my town or wear a tinfoil hat to my next grocery shopping excursion.  But I am happy to report that the rules are few, and are relatively easy ones with which to comply. Simply stated, they are:

The Versatile Blogger Award Rules…
1. Thank the person who awarded you and link back to them in your post.
2. Tell 7 Random facts about yourself.
3. Pass the award on to 7 new found (or old favorite) bloggers.
4. Contact each blogger you want to pass the award on to and let them know you’ve done so, and let the giver of your award know you accept it… or not.

So far I’ve contacted the award giver, Ginger, to let her know that I accept this award, and now I’m mentioning her name in my blog and formally thanking her for the nomination. Next I have to tell 7 random facts about me, so here goes:

  1. I am not fat; I simply am not tall enough for my weight; if I was six feet tall I would be a perfect weight. I’ve been trying to change my height, but apparently it’s difficult if not impossible to grow upwards at my age, so it seems I’ll have to finally try to adjust my weight to the height I’ve been given. It’s not easy.
  2. I LOVE licorice–especially the real licorice cigars and pipes, but they give me the need to spend A LOT of time in my bathroom, so I don’t indulge in eating these treats very often. The next time I’m scheduled for a colonoscopy, though…
  3. I married my childhood sweetheart and remained happily married to him until his death 18 months ago. I am trying to find my way in this world without him by my side, but I will never stop loving him.
  4. I want to be a writer when I grow up.
  5. I love playing online Scrabble and Bejeweled and play these games in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep.
  6. I don’t sleep much at night.
  7. I have a silly and rather warped sense of humor and am very lucky to have family and friends that put up with and dare I say even encourage it from time to time.
Finally, I’m supposed to pass the Versatile Blogger Award on to 7 other bloggers, and once I’ve posted their names and sites here, I’ll contact them to let them know they’ve been nominated.
In no particular order, here are 7 bloggers whose sites I enjoy visiting. If I’m leaving someone out, don’t worry, I’m sure there will be another award coming your way soon.
Some of these bloggers post daily, some weekly, some more sporadic but still worth the read so please check them out when you have a chance.
And once again, thank you, WordPress and thank you Ginger. I think I’ll print a picture of the Versatile Blogger Award to post in my office/craftroom (my late husband called it my ‘crap’ room)…
11 thoughts on “Freshly Pressed and Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Congratulation, Sylvia, on all the recognition. It’s clear from what I’ve read so far that you deserve it. And thanks for the referral to the 7 blogs you think deserve the award. I will check them out. This is an ingenious way to “spread the love!”

  2. Thank you Sylvia for the mention on your blog. I will definitley give you a shout out. I accepted this award a few weeks back, and so, I shall not put my readers through my truths again. But thank you ever so much! I too have a warped sense of humor, and try to find the best in all situations.

  3. From what I’ve seen of it on this blog, I quite like your sense of humor; there’s absolutely nothing wrong with weird–weird is fun. The world would be a very boring place without the existence of “weird”.

  4. Hey Sylvia,
    Thank you so much for your nomination! It was honestly nothing that I expected!
    It’s such a big gesture for such a young blog 🙂
    I’m writing my ‘acceptance post’ as we (I) speak.a

    Question: can you nominate the person who nominated you?

    Lots of Love
    Eva

    1. Hi Eva–not sure if you are allowed to nominate the person who nominated you…I would say probably not, but if you can’t find 7 deserving bloggers this time, that’s okay too…just go with what you have!
      All the best!

  5. Thank you so much for honoring me with this award!!!

    Wowza, that WordPress selected your article and all the excitement that it generated. Yep, I think we are definitely on the losing side in this battle, maybe that’s why there are so many wanna be vampires out there????? Blood to suck!

    1. Why am I not surprized that you’re getting awards? Seriously, from one of those friends who “encourages” that sense on humour from time to time… congrats!

Leave a Reply

