Microfiction Monday #65


Okay, so here is my first attempt this year at Microfiction Monday, courtesy of Susan at http://www.stonyriver.ie/. The only rule is that the story to accompany each picture must be told in a maximum of 140 characters. Lots of fun—why not jump over to Stony River and let your imagination soar!

Mothman’s Words to Live By

Master, share with me your wisdom so that I can be great like you.
I have only one piece of advice, my child: Do not be drawn to the fire.

138 characters

OR

Mom, this nice man is going to teach me to fly.
Bobby, you do know that you don’t have wings, right?
I know mom, but my robe has huge sleeves!

140 characters

32 thoughts on “Microfiction Monday #65

  1. “Do not be drawn to the fire” …lol! Good metaphorical advice for all of us!

    Both funny! If only Mothman can imbue the large sleeves with flying power, the kid is in like Flynn!

  2. Oh, the flutterbug-lives that have been lost due to senseless attractions to the deadly and dangerous! Fire? Heck, even lightbulbs must be feared, or worse–> Remember the movie, (Poltergeist)? Poor Carol Anne. I always thought of her as being Spielberg’s scared little moth. I mean, between her Mom and Tangina she didn’t know which way to go! (Dianne: Carol Anne, listen to me. Do NOT go into the light. Stop where you are. Turn away from it. Don’t even look at it. vs Tangina: Cross over children. All are welcome. All welcome. Go into the Light. There is peace and serenity in the Light.)

    Good grief! Sorry about that: I seem to be rambling!

  3. I really liked the first one: the moth and the flame idea.
    But “this nice man is going to…” scares the wits out of me, somehow. Guess I watch too much Criminal Minds, and Law & Order SVU.
    — K
    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

Leave a Reply

