What I Miss Most


Have you ever wondered what you’d miss most if you lost someone you dearly loved? Would it be the big things–trips together, birthday celebrations, buying your dream home–or would it be a smattering of small things that by themselves sound insignificant to those around you? These seemingly insignificant things–that special smile, a touch of a hand, dirty laundry left on the bathroom floor–these are the day-to-day pieces of your world that have been taken from you, and are what you ultimately may miss the most.

I wrote the following poem to express some of the ‘insignificant’ things I miss most about losing the husband I loved so much. Who knows, maybe some of the images will resonate with you as well, and make you pause to consider what you would miss. Thanks for reading.

 

What I Miss Most

His crooked smile
That special look that said he loves me
The touch of his hands on my skin
Our kiss goodnight

His laugh
Rolling his eyes at my puns
Hogging the remote
To guard the History channel

His bedroom-blue eyes
Arms embracing me in sleep
Feeling his chest rise and fall
His weight on the bed

Morning coffee made just right
Sharing the daily paper
Admiring his legs
While he dressed for work

Nights at our cottage
Huddled together under a quilt
Watching meteor showers
Peaceful and content

My self-taught handyman
My knight in shining armour
Protector from spiders
And things that go bump in the night

His key in the door
At the end of the day
His hand in mine
Day after day after day after day

Being complete

20 thoughts on “What I Miss Most

  1. How beautiful. I can see from the pic how much you two love each other. So sorry for your loss. Thank you for reminding us of the little things we will miss the most. How important it is to treasure each moment our loved ones are with us. Be blessed, dear friend, knowing you were loved.

  2. It’s a beautiful poem, Sylvia. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    It was cancer that took my dad, too, in May, and just two months after the diagnosis. So I can commiserate with your situation in that respect. It was much too soon, but on the other hand, we’re thankful he didn’t have to hang on and suffer through the things he did for a much longer amount of time. (Especially because he’d already had MS for twenty years.)

    It seems to me as though you do a wonderful job keeping your husband’s memory alive, and I wish you the very best.

    Thanks for visiting my blog this morning. It’s always nice to meet new people, even under sorrowful pretenses. 🙂

  3. What a wonderful list! You’re right it is the little things. I miss most wanting to call my mom with certain questions or sharing small excitements that happened that day.

    Your poem is a lovely tribute!

    1. Diane–I know exactly what you mean about wanting to talk to the person you lost and not being able to. And I do believe it is the small things that people miss most. Keeping your mom’s memory alive by writing your blog posts is a great way to remember her. Take care.

  4. Lovely poem and thoughts.My father always said that while someone remembers you with love, you never die.

  5. Dear Sylvia,

    Thank you so much for this. At times I forget to appreciate the good things we share with our life partner.

    I especially like:

    His key in the door
    At the end of the day
    His hand in mine
    Day after day after day after day

    Being complete

    I am sorry for your lost, but so glad that you can rise above it to capture the loveliest moments of all…

  6. Wonderful post, Sylvia.
    Really touches my heart – and so beautifully written, too.
    Love you lots,
    Faye

  7. So touching Syliva…sure makes one stop and think. I enjoy your weekly writings very much….take care
    Linda

Leave a Reply

