My Mother’s Kitchen: Caramel Popcorn Recipe


Until today, the recipes I’ve posted on my blog have been ones I remember from my childhood–recipes garnered from my mother, my grandmothers, aunts and childhood family friends. Today’s recipe for Caramel Popcorn is an exception, and I’d like to post more recipe exceptions from time to time, especially when I find ones that I think mom would have enjoyed.

Today’s recipe comes from my good friend Mary Eliza; I spent last weekend visiting her and she prepared this for our Saturday night romantic-movie night (“Shall We Dance” with Richard Gere and Jennifer Lopez). Even though we had both seen the movie before we enjoyed watching it again, and I really loved munching on homemade crunchy caramel corn while swaying with the music and watching Richard dance across the screen.

Try this great recipe the next time you’re having a ‘movie-night’ with friends or family; I can imagine mom making this treat for us to snack on while watching a movie on a Saturday night.

Caramel Popcorn  

16 cups popped pop corn
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup margarine or butter
1/4 cup corn syrup
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 sp vanilla

Heat oven to 250° F
Place popcorn in a roaster.
Combine sugar, margarine (butter) and syrup and bring to boil over medium heat stirring continually
Remove from heat and stir in soda and vanilla
Pour over popcorn and mix well.
Bake 30 minutes in oven, stirring every 10 minutes.
Cool and enjoy.

(Best served with musicals, love stories and old movies.)

3 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Caramel Popcorn Recipe

  1. This is great! I especially like the fact that you start with 16 cups of popped corn. Now would that be enough for two people though? 😉
    …sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

