My Mother’s Kitchen: Pineapple Squares Recipe


A new year begins: if you’ve had your fill of overly-sweet Holiday desserts, then mom’s recipe for Pineapple Squares may be just the treat you’re looking for.  This dessert is easy to make, isn’t too sweet, and makes a great ending to a warm winter meal.

Pineapple Squares

Base:
½ cup margarine
1 cup flour
1 tsp white sugar

Mix together well. Spread in 8 inch square pan. Bake 375° F for 8-10 minutes.

Add:
½ cup soft margarine
1 ½ cups icing sugar
1 egg

Beat well and spread over cooked base.

Mix together:
1 tin crushed pineapple (strained well)
1 tin Nestle’s Cream or 1 envelope Dream Whip (Whipped)

Spread over topping.
Set in refrigerator for 1 hour or more.
Makes a lovely dessert.

10 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Pineapple Squares Recipe

  1. This is the recipe I remember from my childhood. I lost it and was so excited to stumble upon it here. Made them this morning and can’t wait to eat them and share them with my family tonight for dinner!!

    1. Angela…so glad you found the recipe you were searching for. Isn’t it nice to be able to make something you enjoyed years go? Please let me know if your family enjoyed the squares…and thanks for leaving a comment for me–much appreciated.

  2. I recently was requested by my family to make these squares. I have not made them for a few years. I discovered that I lost the recipe. I was frantic until I saw this one. This is the one that I always made. I just added a half a cherry to the top, and deleted the Whipped Cream.

Leave a Reply

