Pyjama Day


Today is the last day of the year 2009; I’m writing my final blog entry of the year still dressed in my PJs, even though it’s almost five o’clock in the afternoon. When I decided to pamper myself by spending the entire day in my pyjamas I should have known that visitors would arrive at my home in the middle of the afternoon and find me in this state of disarray. The same law that ensures the phone will ring the moment I lower myself into a hot bath apparently also guarantees that unexpected visitors will arrive smack in the middle of ‘pyjama day’.  

I’m surprised my guests didn’t turn and run when they caught sight of me at the door—un-brushed hair standing on end, knit slippers on my feet and a comfy fleece lounge outfit covering my lazy body.  In hindsight I suppose I shouldn’t have answered the bell, but I couldn’t very well leave my friends standing in the freezing winter air after they braved the cold to come see me, so I put on a sheepish face and welcomed them inside.

Tonight is New Year’s Eve, and my afternoon visitors talked a little bit about their plans to ring in the New Year—house parties seem to be the rage this year. Those of you who know me personally will understand that I have no heart to celebrate tonight; since the death of my husband/soul mate/childhood sweetheart two weeks ago I am struggling to just get through a day at a time, so my New Year’s Eve will be a quiet one spent at home, in my nightgown, in bed with my computer and a good book.

But I do understand the desire to welcome in a new year, to hope for fresh beginnings and a future full of possibilities. So enjoy New Year’s Eve, my friends, in whatever manner you choose, and we’ll talk again in 2010. 

All the best.

Sylvia

4 thoughts on “Pyjama Day

  1. Hi Sylvia,

    PJ day sounds great. I am glad you are blogging; I found writing key to handling my own grief. I hope that your 2010 is filled with healing and peace.

    Michele

    1. Thank you Michelle–I am having a difficult time coping with everything that has happened, but I do know that writing will be one of my releases to help me come to terms. I am trying to take ‘one day at a time’, and this means I have good days and bad days–in fact I have good hours and bad hours. I know I am fortunate to have had such a loving relationship for such a long time, and that knowledge does sustain me, but I am still so sad and miss my husband more than I thought would be possible. I know it sounds trite but I feel as if I am broken…

      I love reading your blog and appreciate the time you’ve taken to correspond with me.

      Sylvia

  2. I’m inspired by your courage and strength to keep going and writing. My continued love and support is with you and the kids.

Leave a Reply

