My Mother’s Kitchen: Scotch Cookies Recipe


Do you have a favourite shortbread cookie recipe? In my family, our recipe for “Scotch Cookies” is definitely a favourite that is a must to have on hand during the holiday season!

Mom’s “Scotch Cookies” recipes is one of those favourites that shows up at our house every Christmas. Over the years mom ended up deferring this recipe to me to make…she said that for whatever reason, my Scotch Cookies always tasted better than hers…We don’t know why these things happen…we just try to accept them and move on. In the back of my mind, of course, I can’t help but think that mom found a way to wiggle out of making these cookies–mixing the dough, rolling it out onto a floured board, cutting it into Christmas-shaped cookies such as stars and trees and snowmen, baking them, and finally icing and decorating them with coloured sprinkles. I know that even towards the end of her life mom never lost her ability to out-think most of us, and I have to wonder if this was one of those times that she got the best of me….

But for whatever reason, I always ended up making the Scotch Cookies for Christmas, and mom always ‘oohed’ and ‘ahhed’ over the results. Luckily, my husband and children, family and friends also enjoy the finished product, and Christmas cooking proceeded with nary a hitch.

Thanks, mom, for passing this recipe on to me…I promise to pass it on to my children as well. 

 

Scotch Cookies

1 cup butter
½ cup brown sugar
2 cups flour

Directions
Mix ingredients together well. Pat into 2 balls of dough. Roll out not too thin and cut with decorative cookie cutters—stars, trees, circles, half-moons, etc. Bake in oven 350° – 375°F until lightly browned. Be careful not to burn. Decorate with icing and cherries or sprinkles if desired. These are great cookies to include with your Christmas baking.

Leave a Reply

