My Mother’s Kitchen: Frosted Creams Square Recipe


In my last post I highlighted one of the delicious square recipes that mom made for wedding and baby showers. Today’s recipe is for Frosted Creams, an equally delicious choice for any occasion that calls for sweets.

 

Years ago, at my wedding shower, my mother and aunts prepared the food–finger sandwiches such as egg salad, cheese and cherry, asparagus, and chicken salad, all with the crusts cut off, and desserts—Cherry Surprises, Rainbow Bars, Brownies, Speckled Squares, and Frosted Creams. We drank our tea and coffee from china cups and saucers, and everyone at the shower wore a good dress or a skirt and blouse. Men were nowhere to be seen—no “Jack and Jill” showers back then. Showers were female only, and gifts were practical—tea towels, pillowcases, cups and saucers, china plates and platters, and teapots. These were perfect gifts for the bride of the day preparing for a new life and a new household.

 

When I house-cleaned my dining room hutch last year I sorted through over twenty bone china cups and saucers; I can’t remember the last time I used any of them. Lifestyles today call for coffee mugs and wine glasses, dishwasher-safe stoneware and stainless steel knives and forks. I made note of each marking on my cups and saucers and wrapped them up in paper and boxes, then stored the boxes in my basement (not cellar).

 

Maybe some day lifestyles will change once more and I’ll open the boxes, carefully unwrap the china cups and matching saucers, and place them once again in my dining room hutch. Maybe I’ll brew a pot of tea and bake a pan of Frosted Creams to enjoy with it. Maybe the next time I’m invited to a wedding shower I’ll wear a good dress or a skirt and blouse, and will take fancy sandwiches with the crusts cut off, or a pan of squares, iced and cut into bite-sized pieces, arranged carefully on one of my shower platters.

 

Do you have memories to share? I’d love to hear about them–drop me a line or add a comment to my post. Thanks so much.

Frosted Creams 

½ cup shortening
1 cup white sugar
2 egg yolks
2/3 cup milk
2 cups flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
3 tsp. baking powder
Salt
2 egg whites beaten stiff

Directions
Cream together shortening, sugar and egg yolks. Add milk and dry ingredients (sifted together), alternately. Fold in egg whites. Bake in moderate oven 350° F oven approximately 25 minutes.  Cover with butter icing while still warm. When cool cut in squares.

2 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Frosted Creams Square Recipe

  1. Hi there,

    Actually I really enjoy drinking Harley and Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice tea out of beautiful China cups. This is a habit I have recently acquired, but I am considering frequenting antique stores and looking for those beautiful one-offs that I can collect.

    There is a lot in the world that a nice cup of tea can solve.

    Michele

    1. I agree, Michelle (even though my preference is still for coffee)–I have several bone china coffee cups that I use when I especially need a ‘pick-me-up’.
      Best of luck in your hunt for cups and saucers–too bad we didn’t live closer–you could see if you like any of mine!

Leave a Reply

