My Mother’s Kitchen: Speckled Squares Recipe


My mother had a great sense of humour; she enjoyed jokes and funny stories, loved dressing up for Halloween or any other occasion that called for a costume, and never got tired of sharing a laugh with family and friends. Mom was often known to don a silly costume and take part in a wedding or baby shower skit with her sister and sister-in-law, and she was not above acting the fool in order to receive a laugh and a round of applause.

 

 

Mom dressed up at a wedding shower
Mom dressed up at a wedding shower

Here is a picture of mom in an outfit she wore when she and two of my aunts performed a skit at a wedding shower.  I don’t know who the guest of honour was that day, but I’m sure she enjoyed the afternoon!

 

Every time mom was invited to a shower she took sweets or sandwiches with her. She would arrange them carefully on one of her fancy plates and cover them with plastic wrap or foil. I have her ‘fancy plates’ now and some of them still have her initials or name written on white tape adhered to the plate bottom.

 

One of mom’s recipes that she often made for showers was Speckled Squares. They were always a hit; shower guests knew what a great cook mom was and her squares were quick to disappear off the plate. I don’t think she ever took any back home with her when the shower ended.

 

The next time you are invited out, why not bake these squares and arrange them carefully on one of your ‘fancy plates’ to take with you. And don’t forget to write your name on white tape adhered to the bottom of the plate!

 

Do you have any memories you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about them—drop me a line or add your memory to the comment section of my blog.

 

 

Mom and Shane
Mom and Shane

 

 Speckled Squares

2/3 cup margarine
2/3 cup white sugar
1 1/3 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
½ cup milk
¼ tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1 ½ – 2 oz grated semi-sweet chocolate
2 egg whites beaten stiff

Directions
Mix in above order and bake at 350° F oven for 20 to 30 minutes. When cool, cover with:
½ cup margarine or butter
1 ½ cup icing sugar
2 egg yolks
Pour over this 1 ½ – 2 squares melted semi-sweet chocolate and spread.

6 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Speckled Squares Recipe

  1. I remember these squares! They are high on my list of favourites. Thanks for sharing your stories and your Mom’s recipes!

    Tara

    1. Thanks Tara–I think mom would be pleased to have these little stories shared with others; she always encouraged me to write. And yes, those squares are delicious, aren’t they…

  2. Your mother and Aunt Joyce and Aunt Marina did a skit at my baby shower – what a hoot they were. I laughed so hard that I worried I might go into labour.

    And these squares – well I had the immense pleasure of devouring many of these at a number of family functions.

    Thanks for sharing this recipe and the memory of your mother’s wonderfully wacky sense of humour.

    Ann

    1. Thanks Ann–mom certainly did have a wonderful sense of humour…ran in her family I think…all our aunts and uncles could be funny….and she did love entertaining people who shared her sense of humour. Any idea whose shower this picture was taken at? I think it was at the Lion’s Den….not sure the year though.

Leave a Reply

