My Mother’s Kitchen: Pigs in a Blanket Recipe


Scamp sitting pretty
Scamp sitting pretty

Did your family have a pet when you were growing up? We did—we had cats and a dog. Actually, we had more than one dog over the years, but I don’t remember much about the ones we had when I was really little. The dog that I do remember, vividly, was Scamp.

Scamp was just that…a Scamp. He was a goofball, really, and I’m not even convinced he knew he was a dog. I’m pretty sure he thought he was a ‘people’, just like the rest of the family, except hairier. He liked to sleep in our beds, eat our food, and travel as far as possible as quickly as possible when the occasion arose. By travel, I mean he took off on the run whenever he managed to sneak outside without a leash or chain. As soon as he realized he was not fastened to anything, he was gone—a supersonic speed dog—up the country road and over the hill to freedom, to adventure, his ears bent backwards, a wild grin on his face, blithely ignoring the pleas and screams and threats that echoed behind him, lost to the wind.

Scamp always returned home though, either on his own at the end of his adventure, exhausted and muddy but extremely pleased with himself, or at the end of a leash, an unrepentant escapee captured by my father or my brother or me. No matter the outcome, no matter how much or how loudly we scolded him, Scamp’s love of a good run (away) never ceased, and he constantly took advantage of any unexpected opportunities to explore the world.

Scamp loved food; he loved dog food and table scraps, popcorn and potato chips, bits of food snuck to him from the dinner table and chunks of meat stolen from the kitchen counter. He sat up on his hind legs and even endured such indignities as wearing silly hats if it meant he received a treat after the laughter stopped.

One of Scamp’s favourite treats was wieners–he liked them raw, he liked them cooked; he wasn’t fussy when it came to this delight. Mom used to make a recipe called “Pigs in a Blanket” and Scamp was especially fond of them. After all, what was better than a wiener unless it was a wiener wrapped in biscuit dough!

“Sit pretty, Scamp. Sit pretty. Good dog. Here’s a piece of my Pig in a Blanket.”

  

Scamp in one of my winter hats
Scamp in one of my winter hats

 

 

  

Still sitting pretty
Still sitting pretty

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pigs In A Blanket

Preheat oven to 450°F.
Make biscuit dough from Bisquick© or from your own recipe.
Roll dough into rectangle ¼“ thick.
Cut into 4” by 3” oblongs.
Wrap each oblong around a wiener, letting ends of wiener peek out.
Bake 15 minutes and serve hot with ketchup, mustard or relish.

One thought on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Pigs in a Blanket Recipe

  1. Hey cousin,

    I remember Scamp well and his flights to freedom. I believe I was even involved in a chase or 2. I also remember that hat. Suffice it to say – I think it looked better on Scamp – just kidding – I had one too. They were warm but did a number on the hair. I think that is why we ended up wearing our hair long and parted in the middle so those hats would not mess it up so much.

    Nice post.

    Ann

Leave a Reply

