My Mother’s Kitchen: Deep Apple Pie Recipe


As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, fall is definitely upon us on Canada’s east coast. The air is crisp and cool, the leaves crunch underfoot, it’s time to put away the mower and fertilize the lawn for winter, and it’s time to harvest apples.

When I was a little girl we visited my Great Aunt Helen and Uncle Charlie’s farm in the fall; they lived in the Annapolis Valley and had orchards of apple and pear trees. Uncle Charlie was a big man who always ate with his own special fork—a bone-handled instrument the size of the serving fork we use to pick slices of turkey or beef from a meat platter. Aunt Helen was my paternal grandfather’s sister, and I remember her being a warm, loving woman who was also a great cook. Uncle Charlie kept chickens and I remember that he had tiny red blinders for them to wear; he said the blinders kept them from pecking each other. My siblings and I called them glasses, and tried wearing them, but they pinched our noses so we abandoned them fairly quickly.

By the time my children were little Aunt Helen and Uncle Charlie had already died; Shane and Erin never visited their orchard in the valley. Instead we visited apple farms in the fall, and selected juicy, delicious fruit fresh-picked from the orchards. Once home, I pulled out mom’s recipe for Deep Apple Pie and prepared a dessert aptly suited to a crisp fall day.

This recipe always turns out great. Mom made it for me and I made it for my children, and you may want to make it for your children.  It is one more way to use fall’s bountiful fruit, the apple, and it won’t disappoint.

Deep Apple Pie

Topping
1 cup flour
¼ cup butter
½ cup brown sugar
½ tsp. baking powder
Pinch of salt

Directions
Mix butter with flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Put sliced apples in deep dish; sweeten as desired with white sugar. Sprinkle crumb mixture over top and press lightly to smooth. Cook in moderate oven (350°F) until apples are soft. Serve warm with whipped cream, ice cream or table cream.

Leave a Reply

