My Mother’s Kitchen: Brownies and Divinity Fudge Recipe


Good Friends
Good Friends

Did you have a best friend when you were growing up? Did your mother have a best friend? I did and my mother did, and the odd coincidence about this was that my mom’s best friend, Doris, and my best friend, Barb, were also mother and daughter. Even our younger brothers and our fathers were good friends, so our families spent a lot of time together. Barb and I shared childhood secrets, fears, and dreams for the future, and later on, we babysat together and even double-dated. As for mom and Doris–I wonder if they also shared their dreams, their hopes for their children and their plans for the future? I imagine they did—I remember them laughing together and I’m pretty certain there were times they also cried together; that’s just what best friends do.

Friendships come and go and not all survive the test of time; people move, relationships evolve, and interests change, but mom and Doris remained best friends until Doris’ untimely death when she was still in her fifties. Mom was the one who fixed Doris’ lipstick before her funeral because the undertaker hadn’t done a good job applying it and it needed to be done. Barb couldn’t do it and I couldn’t do it, but mom did it; she said that Doris would have done the same for her if their roles were reversed. 

 When mom was dying, Barb came to the hospital and offered me her love and support and another shoulder to cry on. I’m not sure that I ever actually thanked her for being there, for knowing that I needed a childhood friend who still cared about me and about mom, somone who had known mom almost as long as I had known her. Thank you, Barb.

Mom and Doris not only spent a large portion of their lives together as friends, they also shared each other’s recipes, recipes for brownies and fudge, pickles and beets and cookies and fruit cake. I especially remember Doris’ Divinity Fudge and her recipe for Brownies, and today seems like a good day to share them with you as well.

 I know mom would be pleased.

Brownies (Doris Wheaton) 

 ¼ cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
¼ cup milk
2/3 cup flour
1/3 tsp. salt
½ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. vanilla
2 oz. unsweetened chocolate
Chopped walnuts
Directions
Mix ingredients together. Pour into greased pan. Bake in moderate 350 ° F oven.

 

Divinity Fudge

2 cups white sugar
½ cup corn syrup
½ cup cold water
1 cup chopped nuts (optional)
2 egg whites
1 tsp. vanilla

Directions
Boil sugar, corn syrup and water until it forms a firm ball. Beat egg whites stiff. When candy is done, pour into egg whites and beat eight to ten minutes. Add vanilla and nuts (optional).

Leave a Reply

