My Mother’s Kitchen: Oatmeal Cookies Recipe


Oatmeal Cookie Recipe

Did your mother ever say, “Eat your oatmeal, it’s good for you and will stick to your ribs”? My mother certainly did; she served hot cooked oatmeal porridge for breakfast most winter mornings when I was growing up, and when she didn’t serve oatmeal it was because she was serving yucky Cream of Wheat instead. Even after all these years, I don’t like Cream of Wheat.  I do, however, like oatmeal. I like cooked, hot oatmeal served with milk and brown sugar, I like oatmeal brown bread slathered in butter and molasses and I like oatmeal cookies; I especially like oatmeal cookies.

 I vowed that when I had children I would not make them eat oatmeal porridge or Cream of Wheat for their winter breakfasts, but I only partially kept that vow.  I never made my children eat Cream of Wheat, but I did serve them oatmeal–quick-cooking, flavoured oatmeal made in the microwave—peaches and cream, maple and brown sugar, cinnamon and raisins, and sometimes, even original oatmeal, plain and simple and down-home good. Oatmeal–goodness in a bowl.

This leads me to today’s recipe for Oatmeal Cookies; what a wonderful way to eat your oatmeal every day, or at least every week. This cookie recipe not only tastes good, it is good for you. After all, it contains oatmeal, and oatmeal is one of nature’s perfect foods, isn’t it? 

 Please let me know what your family thinks of this recipe—do they prefer munching on crunchy cookies to having oatmeal porridge served to them on a frosty February morning, or heaven forbid, to gagging down Cream of Wheat cereal that really should NEVER be served to anyone at anytime for any occasion. I have a feeling they do, and who can blame them?

Oatmeal Cookies 

1 cup butter or shortening ( I use shortening)
1 cup brown sugar
Salt
¼ cup hot water
2 cups oatmeal
1 cup flour
Vanilla
1 tsp. soda in 1 tsp. hot water

Directions
Bake in hot oven until nicely browned.

Thank you for reading my blog; I welcome your comments and appreciate the time you take to make them. Thanks again.

2 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Oatmeal Cookies Recipe

Leave a Reply

