My Mother’s Kitchen: Lemon Bread Recipe


 Today’s recipe contains no spices at all—no cinnamon, no ginger, no nutmeg, no cloves. What it does contain, though, is lemon–lemon rind, lemon juice and just for good measure, lemon flavouring.

Whenever mom made this ‘fancy bread’, its tart lemony aroma was certain to make taste buds tingle long before it cooled enough to be sliced, buttered and eaten. The lemon-sugar topping is wonderful, adding just the right amount of tangy sweetness to this moist bread. It remains one of my favourite recipes, so simple and yet so delicious. Try it for yourself and see if you don’t agree.

Lemon Bread

1 cup white sugar
½ cup shortening
2 eggs (beaten)
Rind of 1 lemon
1 ½ cups flour
½ tsp. salt
1 ½ tsp. baking powder
½ cup milk
½ tsp. lemon flavouring

Directions
Mix all ingredients together. Cook in loaf pan in slow (325°F) oven, approximately 1 hour. Take juice of the lemon, add ¼ cup sugar and let dissolve. Pour over bread while still warm from the oven.

Thank you for reading my blog; I would love to read your comments and appreciate the time you take to share your thoughts with me.

3 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Lemon Bread Recipe

  1. I have really been enjoying the memories associated with all of your stories relating to mom’s recipes. This is one of her staples that I had totally forgotten about – surprising since I used to like her lemon bread so much. Great website.

    Les

    1. Thanks Les–I always loved the topping on this bread…I definitely have to make it soon. Thanks for reading my posts–let me know if you have any stories you want to add to mine!

Leave a Reply

