My Mother’s Kitchen: Radio Pudding Dessert Recipe


Is dessert almost ready, Mom?
Is dessert almost ready, Mom?

Today is my little brother’s birthday; Leslie was the youngest of four children, the baby of our family, and siblings, parents, aunts, uncles, grandmothers, grandfathers, cousins and family friends all loved him.  I remain extremely close to him; he was and is one of the nicest, most caring people I’ve ever known.

 As a child, Leslie loved peanut butter—peanut butter sandwiches, peanut butter fudge, peanut butter cookies, peanut butter anything! Even now, 50+ years later, peanut butter is still one of his pantry staples.

 Leslie also loved a dessert called Radio Pudding that mom often made for us when we were kids. I’m not sure where this recipe came from, but because of its name I like to guess that mom was listening to the radio one day when she heard the recipe and decided it might be a tasty treat for supper that night. I wonder if she had any inkling that this dessert would become one of her family’s favourite recipes of all times. I often made Radio Pudding for my children when they were growing up, and they loved it, too.

 So in honour of my brother’s birthday today, I’m posting mom’s recipe for Radio Pudding. I’m also including a photo of Leslie as a very little boy, waiting patiently at the table for a piece of cake or perhaps for a bowl of Radio Pudding, warm from the oven.

Happy Birthday, little brother. I love you.

 Radio Pudding 

1 cup flour
½ cup white sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. cream of tartar
¼ tsp. salt
½ cup raisins
½ cup milk
½ tsp. vanilla

Directions
Mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt. Add milk and vanilla and mix together well. Add raisins and pour batter into 9 x 9 greased baking dish (glass is best).
Make a sauce of: ½ cup brown sugar; butter the size of a walnut; 2 cups boiling water.
Carefully pour sauce over batter in pan. Bake in moderate (350° F) oven for ½ hour or better. Serve warm.

Thank you for reading my blog.  Please let me know what you think by leaving a comment. Thanks again and visit again soon.

9 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Radio Pudding Dessert Recipe

  1. I was born & raised in New Brunswick. My mom made this for us 10 kids a lot when i was little. Loved it then, still love it. I have it in a N.B. cook book but was too lazy to go find it so took a shot and googled it. To my surprise I’m not the only one who knows of this recipe. Glad I found it. 🙂

    1. So glad you found the recipe you were looking for, Susan. I have a copy of that old New Brunswick cookbook somewhere around my house, too – mom used it a lot when we were growing up in NB. Thanks for visiting my blog. 👍

  2. Just want to thank you so much for this recipe. When I was growing up back in the 60’s my mother made this all the time. Radio Pudding, it was my favourite. She died a couple of years ago at age 98 and took this recipe to her grave. I was sorry that I had never asked her for it. Now I can share this with my family.

    1. It was one of our family’s favourite recipes growing up, too – and my children also grew up loving it. So glad you found my blog and the recipe. Enjoy from my house to yours!

  3. Thanks for saring your recipe. My mom used to make this when I was young and I was looking for the “butter size of a walnut” to confirm it was the same recipe. 🙂

    1. Thanks for commenting, Sherry. Yes, the ‘butter the size of a walnut’ always made me chuckle when I was making Radio Pudding. It is still one of my family’s favorite desserts. 🙂

  4. I love this picture – isn’t he cutest little guy? Both Les and I loved this post – what a terrific birthday gift for him. My Mom must have been listening to the same radio show! We too enjoyed Radio Pudding growing up – and it is still one of Les’s favorites – as it peanut buddu! Hugs from both of us.

Leave a Reply

