My Mother’s Kitchen: Cherry Surprises Cookie Recipe


Thank you to everyone who commented about yesterday’s post–my remembrances of the Helen Crocker television show in the early 1960s, and the recipe that bears her name.

 Today’s recipe is for Cherry Surprises, another no-bake treat that is easy to make and a joy to eat. This recipe contains no flour—only butter, sugar, milk, vanilla flavouring, coconut, crushed graham wafers and of course, a maraschino cherry tucked into the centre of each cookie ball.  

 Mom made Cherry Surprises for family get-togethers, wedding and baby showers, and her Women’s Institute monthly meetings whenever she happened to be on ‘dessert’. When she was on ‘lunch’ for the meetings she made asparagus sandwiches rolled into logs, or tiny cheese and cherry sandwiches with the crusts cut off the bread. We kids loved being around when she prepared for Women’s Institute—we snacked on the crusts she cut off the fancy sandwiches– smidgens of cream cheese and tiny bits of cherries still lodged between the white bread crusts. Definitely worth hanging around the kitchen for.

But back to the Cherry Surprises…I’m including a photo of mom and my younger brother, Leslie, who is obviously enjoying a treat of something that mom made; I wonder if it could be a Helen Crocker Square or a Cherry Surprise? I’ll have to ask him if he remembers…and if he does, I’ll let you know what he says.

 

I wonder if Leslie is eating Helen Crocker Squares or Cherry Surprises?
I wonder if Leslie is eating Helen Crocker Squares or Cherry Surprises?

Cherry Surprises 

½ cup margarine or butter
1 ½ cups icing sugar
1 ½ cups cocoanut
1 tsp. vanilla
1 Tbsp. milk

Directions
Mix well together. Roll into balls with a marachino cherry in the centre. Roll balls into crushed graham wafers (takes 4-6 graham wafers). Place in refrigerator until firm.

Thanks for reading my blog.  I’m interested in your thoughts and feedback.  Please use the comment feature above to let me know what you think. Thanks again.

2 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Cherry Surprises Cookie Recipe

  1. Great post – I loved the part about the fancy sandwiches! I can just taste them! Love the pic of Les and Connie, too. He says he is pretty sure he was eating Helen Crocker Squares – they were his very favorite treat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

