My Mother’s Kitchen: Sunday Memories, Cranberries & Pickles Recipe


One of my favourite pictures of mom
One of my favourite pictures of mom

I just returned home from family brunch at a local restaurant. Spending time with people I love is always a pleasure, and sharing food, conversation and laughter is a great way to spend a few hours on a rainy Sunday.

My childhood Sundays were filled with family get-togethers; aunts, uncles, grandparents and cousins gathered at our large farmhouse on Sunday afternoons and often stayed for supper. Supper was a collaborative event—aunts brought desserts or homemade rolls or jellied salads, and mom prepared the main course of vegetables from the garden along with roast chicken or beef.

We children were banished from the kitchen while supper was being prepared; our mothers sensed we would try to snatch a home-made pickle from the jar, or a spoonful of cranberry sauce from a cut-glass bowl, or a slice of chicken from the meat platter. Our mothers knew us so well.

Today I thought I’d share  mom’s recipe for cranberry sauce, and since fall and pickling season will soon be upon us, one of her pickle recipes. Just thinking about her home-made pickles makes my mouth water and my taste buds tingle. This fall I’ll make a batch of these pickles to enjoy throughout the long, cold winter, and I’m sure that my taste buds will thank me.

 

Cranberries 

3 cups cranberries—fresh or frozen
2 cups water
1 ½ cups white sugar

Directions
Boil cranberries in water until tender and open. Add sugar, bring to a boil again, cool and enjoy.

________________________________________________________________________________

Sweet Mustard Pickles
 
1 doz. cucumbers
1 head cauliflower
2 lbs. pickling onions
½ cup salt
2 quarts vinegar
1 Tbsp. dry mustard
1 Tbsp. turmeric
1 cup flour
3 cups white sugar
 
Directions
Wash vegetables. Cut cucumbers into small chunks, break cauliflower into pieces & skin the onions. Sprinkle with salt & let stand overnight. In the morning, drain & rinse vegetables. Combine mustard, turmeric, flour & sugar. Blend in vinegar. Cook, stirring constantly until mixture thickens. Pour over vegetables & if necessary add enough vinegar to cover. Simmer ½ hour. Pour into sterilized bottles while still hot. Seal tightly.

One thought on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Sunday Memories, Cranberries & Pickles Recipe

  1. I loved this post – it reminds me so much of spending time with your Mom. I never ate cranberry sauce until I came for my first Christmas dinner with your family and I could not believe it was supposed to taste so good. She showed me how to make it and now I always have a batch made – so I can enjoy it year round.

Leave a Reply

