My Mother’s Kitchen: Pollyanna Squares Recipe


I was a voracious reader when I was a little girl, and one of my all-time favourite books had to have been “Pollyanna”, the story of a young orphan sent to live with her Aunt Polly. Pollyanna was a true optimist, always seeing her glass half-full, always able to find something to be glad about in any situation, no matter what. I remember reading and rereading this book, wondering how I would handle life if I was an orphan, or if I lost the use of my legs. I remember crying at Polly’s misfortune, and crying again when the good townspeople, who had learned to love Pollyanna and her “Glad Game”, came to her side when she needed them most, and restored her faith in making the most of what life had to offer.

I’m not sure if I love these “Pollyanna” squares because of their name, because they remind me of a book I loved, or if I love them because they are simple to make and taste so darned good! I have no problem playing the “Glad Game” when I have a plate of Pollyanna Squares in front of me.  “I am glad to have the recipe for Pollyanna Squares and I am glad to be able to share the recipe with others…”

 Pollyanna Squares

24 Graham Wafers (crushed)
½ cup butter (melted)
2 tsp. white sugar

Directions
Mix well together. Press in bottom of 9” x 13” greased pan. Cook 10 minutes in 300° F oven.
Mix together:
1 can sweetened condensed milk
½ lb. desiccated cocoanut
 
Spread over crumbs in pan and bake for 25 minutes in 325° F oven. Ice with chocolate icing when cool.

One thought on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Pollyanna Squares Recipe

Leave a Reply

