My Mother’s Kitchen: Molasses Crinkles Cookie Recipe


My mother died 4 years ago, age 76. She was a woman of many talents, from sewing and knitting to singing and playing the keyboard. She also knew her way around the kitchen.

Mom loved serving home-cooked meals to her family and friends, and they enjoyed eating them.  Her style was neither ‘haute cuisine’ nor ‘restaurant-elegant’, but it was mouth-watering, smell of fresh-bread-from-the-oven, cinnamon-and-cloves-pumpkin-pie good; it was food that you savoured from first bite to last morsel. From her early days as a young wife and mother cooking potato scallop and baked beans for church suppers, to her later years serving Radio Pudding and Rainbow Squares to her grandchildren, mom was a star in the kitchen.

Molasses Crinkles RecipeI recently began sorting through her collection of hand-written recipes I’ve been saving since her death, and reading them not only brought back many happy memories to me but also inspired me to capture these recipes in a collection I could share with others.

 So, enjoy these recipes when you try them out—I make no guarantees about the results you’ll have following them in your own kitchen with your own measuring spoons and cups, but I do know that when mom put wooden spoon to mixing bowl, the results were not only a feast for the eyes and appetite, but also food for the soul.

I’m beginning this collection with a cookie recipe that I’ve loved since the smell of ginger and molasses met me when I arrived home from school and I knew I was in for a treat.

Molasses Crinkles

Ingredients

  • ¾ Cup Shortening
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Beaten Egg
  • ¼ Cup Molasses
  • 2 ¼ Cup Flour
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Ginger
  • ½ tsp. Cloves
  • Directions

    Shape into balls. Press with fork. Sprinkle sugar on top and bake in moderate oven. 

     

     

    2 thoughts on “My Mother’s Kitchen: Molasses Crinkles Cookie Recipe

    Leave a Reply

    